Complications

15 May

Well, I’m not really sure where to start. How about the present: I’m currently sitting in my home. My new home, that is, at the hospital. I’ll be living here until Turtle is delivered, which hopefully will be two weeks from yesterday but could really be any time.

Yesterday I was diagnosed with preeclampsia. The day before I left my house thinking I was just going in for a quick check up and would then head to work. But an unexpected high blood pressure reading and the presence of protein in my urine meant a trip to triage at the hospital. From there they admitted me for a 24 hour urine collection and monitoring. The results were high enough to diagnose me with preeclampsia and tether me to the hospital for the rest of my pregnancy.

I know it’s good I’m here. I know it’s the safest possible place for me to be. Still I’m struggling with dealing with yet another complication. I never thought to fear for my own health with this pregnancy. I was worried about Turtle. His bowel dilations and potential blockages due to the gastroschisis. Not me. I’m struggling with having to spend the first two weeks of my precious maternity leave just hanging out in the hospital. I’ve never spent a night in a hospital, much less lived in one.

So that’s that. My parents are driving up today, which will allow my husband to spend the nights with me here. It’s been lonely without him the last two nights and I cried like a baby before he left last night. I miss my dog. I miss my life… Before it all got so complicated and scary.

20 Responses to “Complications”

  1. Janet May 15, 2013 at 1:30 pm #

    I am so sorry you are having to go through this. Please know that I am sending lots of love and good thoughts to you and Turtle. ((HUGS))

  2. Belle May 15, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

    Oh my gosh. This seems so unfair. You are right, though, you are in the best place right now. Any chance you could keep working from your hospital bed? I know a lot of folks I work with are remote these days. Perhaps your employer will understand and make accommodations? Big hugs and lots of prayers coming your way xoxo

    • Shelley May 15, 2013 at 6:20 pm #

      Thanks Belle. I wish I could but there are constant interruptions at the hospital and I just couldn’t be reliable to work. So leave it is!

  3. Courtney May 15, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

    Oh boy… this is not what I was hoping to see. I am sure this is very scary and awful – because time is so precious right now. BUT – I am glad to know that you’re there in case anything would get worse with your condition. I guess this is why we go in weekly once we hit 36 weeks, huh?

    Thank goodness the nursery is done! I am so glad that you got that done well in advance so that it’s not weighing over you.

    So does this count as maternity leave, or can it count as a different short term disability? It’s worth asking, unless you know for sure. I would be upset about that too.

    Hang in there. Thinking of you and Turtle!

  4. Esperanza May 15, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

    Oh Shelley, I’m so sorry! This is so unfair. I’m glad they caught it and are taking good care of you but I so wish there was nothing to catch and you were home right now.

    Sending love and light. Abiding with you.

  5. nickeecoco May 15, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers. You’ve been through so much. Love from Pittsburgh.

  6. Mo May 15, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    Oh hon that sucks! I’m so sorry 😦
    But I’m glad you’re in capable hands. You’ll get through this!
    Huge hugs

  7. Kate May 15, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

    I’m really sorry to hear this. Glad your parents are coming and your husband is there with you now, though. I’m thinking of you all.

  8. Stephanie May 15, 2013 at 2:30 pm #

    Oh I’m so sorry to hear this. I know the doctors just want to give you the best care and keep an eye on your both, but I’m sure that doesn’t make it any easier. How nice of your parents to come up and keep you company and allow your husband to stay with you. I hope these next few days/weeks pass quickly and you will have Turtle in your hands soon!

  9. Jenny May 15, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

    Oh no. 😦 The last thing you needed was another complication. I’m so sorry.

    I’m sending you and Turtle lots of good thoughts. *hugs*

  10. kate May 15, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    Hang in there girl! You’re so in the right place. You don’t want it to get any worse and end up truly sick.

    Just a thought, check your maternity sick leave policy. You might not have to use maternity days for this. It might fall under your sick leave policy.

    Thinking of you!

  11. Alicia May 15, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

    Awww Shelley, this is crappy. Good, for sure that in this condition you’re at the hospital to stay until Turtle gets here, but crappy that you’re tethered to the hospital nonetheless.

    Thinking of you and hoping for a healthy last two weeks. Hugs.

  12. Lisa @ hapahopes May 15, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

    Tearing up for you here. Thinking of you and praying for you on so many levels. Consider yourself virtually hugged.

  13. slese1014 May 15, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

    UGH! I’m so sorry…I was pre-eclamptic with my daughter too. I escaped an elongated hospital stay because I was close enough to term. I’m hoping things progress in a positive way for you and Turtle. Sending HUGS!

  14. Kristin May 15, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    Shelley! I’m so sorry! I am, however, very happy that you are safe and sound. I would echo what others have said, I think this should count as disability, not FMLA or any other maternity leave program. I hope you can get it finagled as such!

  15. loribeth May 15, 2013 at 11:34 pm #

    So sorry you are having to deal with this on top of everything else… but you are in the best possible place right now. Hang in there!!

  16. jjiraffe May 16, 2013 at 6:44 am #

    (((Hugs))) I’m so sorry Shelley! You are definitely in the right place but I can imagine how scary it must be. Wishing you and Turtle all the best.

  17. Kathy May 16, 2013 at 11:17 pm #

    Sorry about the detour but glad this was caught before it caused any harm to you or baby. You’ll have Turtle in your arms before you know it.

  18. Jane May 18, 2013 at 1:49 am #

    Definitely not an ideal situation (what about IF is?), but it’s so great that you’ll be taken care of and monitored until you get to meet your little boy. Best of luck and good thoughts.

  19. Eve May 18, 2013 at 2:43 pm #

    My goodness! I cannot believe all you’ve been through and now this! Sometimes, you have to stop fighting the current and just ride the wave. I have faith that everything will be ok. I am sending you good energy and positive thoughts. (Regardless, this really sucks and I feel for you.)

Leave a Reply

