34 weeks

4 May

This is an insane milestone to me. Every week now feels like a triumph. We’re two weeks away now from totally safe to deliver, and three away from full term. But even if we had to deliver now, I feel he would be okay. And that’s a crazy thing.

Two days ago, I started feeling some things that made me nervous. Turtle had hiccups already three times by lunch time and I was feeling really crampy in my lower belly and in my back. I didn’t think I was going into labor but I was scared something was going really wrong with his gastroschisis, which was causing him to reflux and my amniotic fluid to skyrocket, hence the cramping.

So, I left work early, DH left work early, and we returned to my MFM OB’s office for the second time in four days. All was fine. Turtle’s dilations looked stable (from Monday) and my amniotic fluid actually went down a little, back into less worrisome range. A transvaginal showed my cervix at 2.4, which is pretty much right on track for where I’m at. It was tight and closed during my first ever internal exam (ow ow ow!) (and also, done by the u/s tech?). The NST looked fine. I did have a few light contractions I couldn’t feel but they said those could have been triggered by the internal exam.

So all was basically fine, and I might have been feeling a little silly about the whole thing but the trip was so worth it because we got the best ever 3D picture of Turtle. It almost felt like we were meeting him for the first time. I’m telling you guys, we were in awe and we can’t stop starting at his beautiful face. And his chubby cheeks! And his kissable little lips! This is prenatal bonding on steroids, and now I’m feeling just so in love with the little man in my belly and beyond excited to meet him (posting to the Turtle page for those who are curious).

This weekend, we are packing hospital bags. I need to go out and buy granny panties, a nightgown, a maxi dress, and some toiletries. Once we get them together I’ll be sure to post our packing list. I also drafted a c-section birth plan (did I mention, Turtle is still breech?) that I want our doula to review before our appointments on Monday. Once that’s finalized, I’ll probably share it as well, if peeps are interested.

Won’t be long now. Not long at all.

(ps. Thanks all for your super kind words on my last couple of posts. It’s been one of the rockier weeks but we’re hanging in there!)

10 Responses to “34 weeks”

  1. Alissa May 4, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    I’m so glad everything is okay and you are getting so close! This has got to all be so exciting and scary at the same time. I just know he will be okay – he IS a fighter and you have some good doctors on your side.

  2. mcmanda May 4, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    OMG, the 3D picture is amazing! I’m glad to hear you seem to be at a better place with the whole cesarean business, although I hope he still turns for you. Best wishes!

  3. Courtney May 4, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

    You shouldn’t feel silly at all! It’s always best to call or stop in, than to ignore something that is at all concerning to you. I had some round ligament pain that I didn’t know what RL pain, and thought my placenta was rupturing. As I called the doc, I felt stupid, but also better knowing that I wasn’t ignoring a concern. NEVER ignore a concern!

    I can’t wait to see his 3D photo! I am booking ours for next week! Heading to Turtle’s page now!

    Hooray for 34 weeks!

  4. Belle May 4, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

    I am so glad everything was ok, and that your fluid levels were showing a slight improvement. 34 weeks is so close! Little Turtle is going to be a rockstar and surprise us all with his ability to heal quickly. I’d also love to see your csection birth plan, and your packing list. Now to check out this adorbs photo…

  5. Theresa May 5, 2013 at 2:26 am #

    Yay for 34 weeks!!!!

  6. jjiraffe May 5, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

    Hooray for 34 weeks! That is a seriously huge milestone.

    I did a post about Maxi Dresses and there are some really cute ones for pregnant ladies at Target. Here ya go with the link. http://jjiraffe.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/how-to-dress-the-maxi-dress/

    • Shelley May 5, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

      I totally saw that post Jess and ended up getting a tan dress with white stripes from Target!!

  7. Kristin May 6, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    Turtle is beautiful!! Beautiful!!

    • Kristin May 6, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

      Oh, and also, I once overhead some L&D nurses claim that cervical exams shouldn’t hurt because the cervix doesn’t have nerves. WTFE.

  8. Alicia May 7, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    So close! Almost there! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

