Things are getting weird

21 Apr

Well, we’ve reached 32 weeks, another surreal milestone. It’s insane to think that I could be delivering as little as four weeks from now. As a result, I’ve been kicking my birth preparedness reading into high gear. I finished the relevant chapters in Ina May Gaskins’s Guide to Childbirth which I’m now forcing DH to read (he needs to know ALL ABOUT that sphincter law!) and now I’m devouring Natural Hospital Birth: The Best of Both Worlds.

At this point in the pregnancy, I’m experiencing some very interesting symptoms indeed. In addition to the boring old tiredness, achy hips, trouble sleeping, stretch marks, weird nipples, vivid dreams (last night I was trying on shoes with Jessica Simpson) etc., I’ve started noticing all this other weird stuff. The weirdest being my craving for sponges. Specifically, Mr. Clean Magic Erasers but also like a very fine baby bath sponge. What do I want to do with these sponges? Mostly just suck/chew on them though a part of me would also like to injest them, maybe. I haven’t given in to the temptation. Some of my TTC friends suggested foods that might help with this craving and Pirate’s Booty does help. But I still find myself thinking of sponges and Magic Erasers multiple times per day.

Other stuff is weird too. Like lately, I get this tactile pleasure from brushing my teeth, especially my molars when the toothbrush rubs the side of my tongue. The foamier the toothpaste, the better. The past few days we were staying at a hotel with a different kind of toilet paper that wasn’t perforated like the kind we had at home. I got this strange tactile pleasure from ripping it off.

Certain very chemical-y smells are also very pleasing to me. I have this natural hand sanitizer that I used to find very strange smelling that now I just want to smell all day. And yesterday after filling up at a gas station, DH got back in the car with his hands reeking of gas and I swear it smelled like the most delicious, beautiful flowers to me. I was like, “What’s that amazing smell!?” It was gasoline. I never hated the smell of gasoline but this was different. It smelled just wonderful to me.

I think I can control myself not to give into my Magic Eraser temptation but I sure do hope that goes away once Turtle is born because I really do like cleaning with those things!

In other news, we have another ultrasound tomorrow. Hoping for stable news.

7 Responses to “Things are getting weird”

  1. Pcosbarrenness April 21, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

    I think I heard somewhere that craving non-food things means your deficient in some vitamin or mineral. Can’t remember what, maybe iron? Your doctor would probably know. Good luck! 🙂

  2. Kate @ Infertile First Mom April 21, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    Wow- That’s interesting:)
    Hope all is well tomorrow. Dream of dining on gasoline soaked sponges tonight… Just don’t do it;)

  3. lamentingthelentil April 21, 2013 at 11:09 pm #

    That is the most hilarious pregnancy craving ever in the history of the world. It’s very pica-ish of you!

  4. Jenny April 21, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

    Hmmm, interesting. I’d read about pica during pregnancy but hadn’t heard of anyone who actually experienced it. Lately I’ve been craving gum ALL THE TIME. But I guess that’s still sort of, kind of food. Do you think sponge candy might also help ease your craving?

  5. Courtney April 22, 2013 at 2:45 am #

    Sounds like pica… Interesting.

    Good luck tomorrow!

  6. nonsequiturchica April 22, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

    Wow a sponge craving…I’ve never heard of that! Hopefully you can figure out a healthy substitute so that your craving goes away.

    Good luck with your ultrasound!

  7. iamstacey April 22, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

    I’ve never had dreams as real or as wild as I did while I was pregnant! But I never ate a sponge! I should’ve though – with all the constipation I had, I prolly could’ve used the fiber! 🙂

Leave a Reply

