Showered with love

6 Apr

I have some major catching up to do around these parts! Today marks the big 3-0 and it’s such a surreal milestone to reach. Even as late as the second trimester, part of me didn’t really believe we’d ever see 30 weeks pregnant. It’s definitely starting to feel like the tail end of this pregnancy has arrived and Turtle’s arrival is imminent.

Now that we’re getting close, I have some major fears around his birth and the early months of his life that I’m having to face head on. One of the things we’re doing to deal with this is looking into hiring a doula (special thanks to Belle for her encouragement in this area), which I will blog about soon. We’re still in the early days of talking to people, figuring out the financials and seeing if there’s a good fit out there for us.

First though, I want to thank everyone for your support after my last post. It really helped me through a very tough few days where I’d find myself breaking down for no apparent reason. Eventually though, the shock of hearing statements like “if your baby is born premature he won’t survive” wore off and I’m thankful that I was able to enjoy Turtle’s baby shower thrown lovingly by my parents at our house. Friends and family came to Boston from D.C., NYC, and Philly to celebrate Turtle and it was really just lovely.

DSC_0058

DSC_0059

DSC_0092

DSC_0094

DSC_0175

On Monday, we have a full day of appointments with both OBs and our surgeon at Children’s. We’re having two ultrasounds and touring both hospitals. No matter what information we learn, we know it will be a “wake up call” day. A day that makes it all feel very real and very close. That’s going to be great in some ways and hard in others but either way, the time has come to face what’s ahead of us head on.

I’ll be back sometime after that to let you know how it went.

7 Responses to “Showered with love”

  1. Alicia April 6, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

    Yay! 30 weeks! Almost there! Turtle is getting stronger by the day!

  2. Kathy April 6, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

    Good luck at your appointments, sending positive thoughts your way ! Nice photos of the shower, everything looks yum

  3. Courtney April 6, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    I’m so glad you had a great time! I bet it was nice to just celebrate your sweet boy!

    Best of luck! You’re getting so close!

  4. iamstacey April 8, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

    I’m so glad you were able to rejoice and celebrate your sweet Turtle! I admire that and am trying to choose it every day, too.

  5. jjiraffe April 8, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

    What beautiful pictures. (I covet your living room. Love the wall color and chandelier!!)

    Glad you were able to celebrate Turtle. Thinking good thoughts for your appointments…

  6. Gina April 8, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

    Hurray for 30 weeks! Your shower looks lovely. Glad you were able to enjoy it. Little Turtle will be here very soon! You’re probably super busy and overwhelmed today. It’s getting real!

Leave a Reply

