28 Weeks

23 Mar

Every Saturday morning I wake up with a smile. Not just because its Saturday, but because it’s my milestone day. Every Saturday means we’ve survived another week and that we’re one week closer to meeting our boy face to face.

Twenty eight is an auspicious number in my family. My mom and dad were both born on 28s. I always though it an amazing coincidence and a good sign that two people in DH’s family were also born on 28s.

Week 28 is when you reach an even stronger point of viability, though of course I take those viability stats with a grain of salt given our condition. Still, it’s nice to know we’ve reached a point that would be considered on the safer side in a normal pregnancy.

I haven’t been updating much because there hasn’t been too much to say. I feel mostly great, other than some minor sciatica, swollen hands and feet, and the extra effort required to maneuver my enormous body around. (Side note: I’m typing this from the pedicure chair and another lady just asked me when I was due. When I said June. She was like wow – you’re big!)

I don’t mind being big though. The bigger the better, I say, because I want Turtle to be so big and strong when he’s born. My body is showing the signs of all this growth though. I’ve got full on deep red tiger stripes from my bottom, wrapped all the way around my hips and across my lower belly like a band.

While not pretty, I accept my stretch marks as a sign that Turtle is thriving. Other than brief moments of “belly envy” when I see beautiful big stretch-mark free bellies, I wear them with pride.

This week, we’ve got another check in ultrasound with Dr. Kind on Thursday and I’m very much hoping for another good report ahead of my shower on Saturday. We’ve got friends and family coming in from all over and I’ve been promised a cake, so it should be swell. I’ll be getting a haircut and some makeup done with my girlfriend in the morning. First pampering (other than this pedicure) in a long time.

I think I’ll look back on this time as my favorite part of pregnancy, feeling mostly good, creating the nursery with love with DH (pictures to come when it’s finished), and looking forward to my shower next weekend. All is as well as can be right now, and even though it feels a little like the calm before the storm, I’ll take it.

9 Responses to “28 Weeks”

  1. Theresa March 23, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    28 weeks was a place where I felt like I could breathe a bit better too. Now shooting for 32. Turtle, bubbles and squishy need to stay cozy for awhile while we get huge!

  2. Lisa March 23, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

    Happy 28 weeks!

  3. Amy March 23, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    Yay for 28! I am so glad you are proud of those tiger stripes – you really should be, and I think you’re right that it means he is getting big and strong, and well-prepared for his battle. Rawr to you both!

  4. Alicia March 23, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

    Good job mama! Taking time to relax and feel the calm – love it! Sending lots of happiness your way Shelley!

  5. Geochick March 23, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

    Congrats on hitting another milestone!

  6. Kate @ Infertile First Mom March 23, 2013 at 10:59 pm #

    Stretch marks are so not important in the scheme of things, right? Congrats on the milestone and feeling comfortable in your skin, striped or not! The second trimester is just lovely- enjoy, my dear;)

  7. Courtney March 23, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

    Oh, you sound so happy! I love it!

    Have fun next weekend… You have a lot to celebrate!

  8. Amanda @ readingeachpage.blogspot.com March 24, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

    Congrats on 28 weeks! Keep on growing, Turtle!

  9. Aplatanada March 25, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

    Yay! Every week feels a little bit more sure, doesn’t it?

    I also freak people out with the size of my belly. I literally scared someone the other day in the grocery store- she jumped back in terror and said, “You’re due any day, I bet. Why are you still walking around?!” I took perverse pleasure in it.

Leave a Reply

