“The room”

11 Mar

It’s a well known concept in the infertility world. Most any infertile will know what you’re talking about if you mention “the room” (and no, I’m not talking about the panic room we all wish we had when our temps start to dip or at the first sign of spotting).

I’m talking, obviously, about the baby’s room. Or the would-be baby’s room, if we ever get there. The guest room/office/storage room/whatever-I-can’t deal-with-it room that many of us have in our homes. The one we put off decorating because we hope it’s destined for a greater purpose. The one we sometimes avoid altogether, keeping the door permanently shut on the gaping, vacant reminder of the emptiness of infertility.

This weekend, my Dad flew up to help DH wallpaper the ceiling of Turtle’s room. It didn’t hit me until last night, when they were all finished and cleaned up. I was looking at the painted walls and up at the wallpaper and around at the empty room that is fully ready to be decorated and I realized, this is no longer “the room.”

This is now his room. It is for him. It is a labor of love for him, as everything has been up to this point and will continue to be. The room has taken on a whole new persona, the room is fulfilling a destiny that it was meant for, yet one I didn’t know if it would ever, ever reach.

I am going to blog about decorating the nursery, eventually. When it’s all done, with pictures, I promise. But for now, I’m just appreciating, almost reveling in, the change that has come over the room.

If those walls could talk, I believe they’d just smile.

12 Responses to ““The room””

  1. Kate March 11, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

    I remember that feeling. Amazing.

    This post made me smile:)

    • Shelley March 11, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

      Hey you, is Cozy here?! I’ve been waiting anxiously for an update!

  2. slese1014 March 11, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    It took me forever to make the commitment to do the room. In fact, she’s 15 months old and it’s still not “fully” completed yet. Should make it interesting when we have 2 in that room….EEEEPP!!! But you’re so right. It is a labor of love. I’d love to see pics!

  3. Amanda @ readingeachpage.blogspot.com March 11, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

    That is just fantastic. I can’t wait to see photos!

  4. Gina March 11, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    You’re finally here! Can’t wait to see the pictures, Have fun decorating!

  5. Theresa March 11, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

    We’ve (kinda sorta) started putting the nursery together, too, and it feels just as surreal as you describe it.

  6. Courtney March 11, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

    Oh, “the room.” We moved into this house a few months before the cycle that worked for us, and we kept the door to “the room” shut at all times. I made the mistake of planning a nursery in our old place during our first (failed) cycle and I wasn’t going to do that again. That closed door just looked like the door to a tomb for so long.

    Good for you for getting started! YAY! It is so much fun to work on the room that you know your baby is going to enjoy for years to come! Bravo!

  7. Alicia March 12, 2013 at 2:59 am #

    Awwwwww, this is awesome Shelley! Congrats! This is a big step – Turtle will be here soon!!!!!

  8. Kristin March 12, 2013 at 3:27 am #

    One of my apps tells me its time to order the crib. What?! Before the anatomy scan? I think not! Who are these people?

    • Shelley March 12, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

      I have heard that some cribs can take quite a few months to arrive! Though we got ours from Amazon and it came almost immediately.

  9. starfishkittydreams March 16, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    Congratulations! I found your blog on Bitter Infertiles and have been a loyal listener. So thrilled with your good news. I love that you are decorating the room and really embracing the arrival of your little one. You deserve to enjoy every moment. Take care.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Starry starry nursery | tales from the waiting room - April 28, 2013

    […] tends to be an eclectic mix of modern and antique, new and collected. Putting together this room (THE room) will always remain a highlight of my […]

Leave a Reply

