Better

1 Mar

First off, thank you all for your kind, encouraging comments on my post yesterday. I think the most important thing about writing that post was that it allowed me to validate feelings that I had been trying to deny. I stepped away from writing it, and from reading your comments, knowing that everything I was feeling was okay.

Last night I was reading before bed about a father who would wake up early on Saturday mornings to take his two sons to the playground, and out of nowhere, I started crying. Because I want that so badly. And one part of me just said to another part of me, “You’re really worried about Turtle aren’t you?” And then I cried harder as that worried part of me just nodded with relief at finally being recognized and understood. “That’s totally normal,” I said to myself. “That just means you’re a mom already.”

And somehow that was all I needed for the tears to go away and to feel much better. I learned in therapy a few years ago that feelings often just need to be heard and recognized in order to calm down. They don’t go away, they just deflate like a balloon and stop bothering you when you appreciate and really respect them for what they’re trying to do. So thank you all for bearing with me as I go through this emotional roller coaster.

Anyways, the real reason I came to post today was to share this amazing story about a man who found his son in the Subway. You know, when I was in college, I so desperately wanted a cat that I used to fantasize about finding an abandoned kitten on the side of the road or in the bushes. I wasn’t allowed to have one in the dorms of course, but I thought if one just happened to fall into my arms then I’d find a way to make it work.

Well, even after going through infertility, I never dreamed that this same concept could apply to getting a baby but for this couple, it did. It’s a wonderful story of fate, faith and love.

Happy Friday, ya’ll.

3 Responses to “Better”

  1. Luna March 1, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

    I read that too. I think I am right in thinking that one of the dads has written a screen play. I hope they make an international film with it, that is a story I would love to see.

  2. nonsequiturchica March 1, 2013 at 7:21 pm #

    I just got chills after reading that amazing story!! WOW!

  3. Alicia March 2, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

    Yes, this all means you’re a mom already. Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

