Ultrasound tomorrow

25 Feb

We have another ultrasound with Dr. Kind (MFM OB) tomorrow and of course I feel nervous once again. I know Turtle is still alive and kickin’ (literally!) in there but I’m very worried that the bowel dilations we last saw have grown and/or multiplied. I’m also keenly aware that at some point his so far stellar growth (usually measuring a few days to a week ahead) will at some point start to taper off, most likely, though I don’t think that’s coming until after we reach at least 30 weeks.

I always thought that the knowledge of his gastroschisis would get easier to deal with as time passed but in some ways, it’s harder. I’m falling more and more in love with this little being in my belly as I continue to make plans for him, buy things for him, create a space in our home for him. And as all those things happen, it gets more and more painful to think of the challenges that face us all in the weeks and months ahead. He’s so much more real now than he was at 11 weeks when we first found out.

I’ll be sure to update once we get back but in the meantime, I’ve uploaded a few new ultrasound pics to the Turtle page, including one where his gastroschisis is visible from our last scan at Children’s back in January. The tech actually apologized to us for getting it in the pic but I don’t know why. It’s part of him and we love him and we don’t want to be shielded from anything. If anything, I’m glad we have at least one ultrasound picture to keep where it is visible. There’s also a new bump pic from last week. I think I was looking particularly large that morning but I guess that’s how I really look these days!

4 Responses to “Ultrasound tomorrow”

  1. Belle February 25, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

    I think you look beautiful, Mama! I am thinking nothing but good thoughts for you and Turtle tomorrow. Do keep us posted. xoxo

  2. Jenny February 25, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

    You and Turtle are looking great! You and I have similar sized bellies right now. 🙂

    Good luck with the ultrasound tomorrow.

  3. Courtney February 25, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

    Good luck tomorrow! I’ve been thinking of you today. I know that these ultrasounds can be so tense. I am hoping that the dilations have calmed down and not gotten to 2mm.

    I think things do get harder as we get further along, because we’re so aware of these babies’ presence and they are real people to us versus being a dream of a person. We just want them to be OK, and we are so acutely aware that all we can do is hope that they’re OK because so much of this is out of our control. I’m not sure that any of it is within our control, really. That’s hard to accept.

    I will be thinking of you and Turtle tomorrow!

  4. Kristin February 26, 2013 at 3:18 am #

    A beautiful bump! Thinking of you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

