Dear Turtle

16 Feb

Dear Turtle,

Today, I am 23 weeks pregnant with you in my belly. Daddy and I tried for a long time to have a baby so every week is getting more and more exciting for us.

This morning I SAW you move for the first time ever. Your kicks were feeling so strong I decided to lift up my shirt and check it out. And then – boop! You kicked me again and I saw my belly jump. I love every time I feel you move or kick me. A wave of relief and joy washes over me every time, knowing that you’re still growing and playing around in there. Keep it up!

For Valentine’s Day last week, your grandparents, my parents, sent you some gifts. One gift was a bib from the Paula Dean store in Savannah, Georgia. Paula Dean is a famous Southern chef and the bib says, “Feed me, ya’ll!” We think it’s the cutest thing. Pops also sent us a CD of classical music to play for you. I think you are just starting to hear, so I’m going to try playing some of the music for you soon.

Yesterday, I think we finally found the lady who will be taking care of you during the day while Mama and Daddy are at work. We looked long and hard to find this lady because we wanted to find just the perfect person for you to spend your early years with. Her name is Sue and she lives near the water and she has a big shaggy black dog.

You’ll be used to dogs of course because our Ava can’t wait to meet you. We are pretty sure she knows you’re coming because she’s been acting very differently since Mama got pregnant with you. She has been one of the greatest joys in our lives as we’ve waited for you. Everyone who meets her says she’s the sweetest, calmest, best behaved doggie they’ve ever met. We can’t wait to see you grow up with her and know she will take the best care of you.

We also have a cat you’ll meet, Milo. He is so funny. He loves to talk to us and to the birds outside. He is obsessed with Ava and will cry by the window every time she’s outside. Sometimes, he bites us. But he is so gentle with Ava, we think he’ll be just as gentle with you. Last night he wanted to cuddle with me but my belly is getting too big. So he curled up on the arm of the sofa and rested his head on my arm.

When you’re first born, we’ll be spending a lot of time in the hospital. You’ll be receiving the best care from the best doctors and nurses and though Mama and Daddy will worry, we know you’re a strong and brave little boy who will overcome everything. Mama may not be around to kiss and hold you very much right after you’re born, because I’ll be in a different hospital than you. You’re going to one of the most special hospitals in all the world, built just for babies and children! Even though I won’t be there very much, I’ll be thinking of you constantly and my love will be all around you, always. And Daddy will be there to hold your hand until I get there.

But let’s not worry about that for now. Our job right now is to stay healthy and keep growing! And even though I am counting down the days until I get to meet you, I want you to stay inside my belly and keep growing as long as you can.

All my love,Mama

7 Responses to “Dear Turtle”

  1. Courtney February 16, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    Keep growing strong, Turtle!

    I love it when we can see them moving inside! I can’t wait for that! I keep looking, but nothing yet!

    Hard to believe you only have 17 weeks left! This is going fast!

  2. Keisha February 16, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

    Just beautiful, Shelley.

  3. Kate February 16, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

    Made me cry. So beautiful. 🙂

    • Alicia February 17, 2013 at 3:54 am #

      Oh my god Shelley, this made me cry. So beautiful.

  4. Amy February 17, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

    This is beautiful. I hope you get lots more of the visible movements between now and when he comes! Such a fun time.

  5. Gina February 19, 2013 at 1:48 am #

    Beautiful letter to Turtle! It made me cry.

  6. sams February 19, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

    Love this so much! Gave me chills and made me even more excited for my two little ones. 🙂

Leave a Reply

