18 week update

14 Jan

We hit the 18 week milestone on Saturday, which officially puts me into my fifth month of pregnancy. FIVE. Months. Pregnant. Insane. Since the beginning I’ve had trouble answering the question, “How many months are you?” Weeks makes sense to me. Months does not compute. But most people think of pregnancy in months, not weeks.(For those of you with the same struggle, I just found this handy chart which makes it all so clear.)

We’re at or nearing the halfway point (most gastroschisis babies don’t go to full term so I’m expecting a delivery before 40 weeks for sure), which feels like a huge accomplishment and is also a little disheartening. It’s like reaching what you think is the summit when hiking, then turning a corner and realizing you’ve still got a few more cliffs to climb.

I WISH I was one of those women who claims to love pregnancy but holy hell, this has been a physical challenge. And it frightens me that the worse is still to come.

Here’s some of the things I’m experiencing these days related to pregnancy:

-Acne. Lots of it, especially in the past few days. I’ve got zits on top of zits. But then again I’ve never had perfect skin, so this isn’t the biggest annoyance.

-Nausea. OMG, finally, FINALLY starting to ease up. Not totally gone at all, by any means, but my days are finally getting a little more manageable. It’s enough to have me contemplating starting some kind of exercise, though I haven’t pulled the trigger yet.

-Hunger. Pretty much have to eat constantly or else the nausea comes rolling on back.

-Heavy, full boobs. Not sore. Just heavy, full feeling, and criss-crossed with blue veins.

-Heavy, full belly. The bump has been a legit bump for a few weeks now and I feel like it hasn’t grown too much over the past week or so. That said, after a day chock full of stuffing my face, my belly is so full, round and hard in the evenings, it feels like it might burst open. This can make getting to sleep uncomfortable. And I’m about a few days away from caving and buying a REAL pregnancy pillow (aka calling in the big guns).

-Achy-ness. Mostly in my back, especially after sitting in my desk chair all day. The pain is mostly mid-back and no stretch seems to satisfy it.

-Tiredness. Basically all the time.

-Swelling. My wedding rings are starting to get tight, and I had a pregnant lady warn me this weekend to stop wearing them before they’d need to be cut off. Yipes! I am thinking of buying a cubic zirconia ring a few sizes up, just to have something on my finger. Otherwise, I feel naked! (And also judged.)

And now for some non-physical updates:

We have finally settled on a first name that we both adore! But I am going to be one of those annoying women who doesn’t share the name until the baby is born. Sorry! It’s kind of a thing with me that I can’t quite explain. I do plan to write about the name choosing process soon. We’re still hunting for a perfect middle name.

We’ve settled on a shower date and started building a registry. Which has turned out to be an unexpectedly very difficult process because I have no idea what we want and there are so many choices! It’s kind of overwhelming. Creating a wedding registry? Way easier.

Our crib is here! It’s in its box in the future nursery for now. So much needs to be done in the room that I don’t see the point in setting it up now but I feel a little better for now knowing at least we have a place for the little guy to sleep, when he does finally come home.

OH! And we’ve started using our doppler again and can finally find the heartbeat fairly easily whenever we want. Even though we have the privilege of frequent ultrasounds, I still love to find his heartbeat every few days. It’s such a lovely reassuring sound and it feels like it’s working on some subconscious level to bond me with the baby.

Signing off for now…

18 Responses to “18 week update”

  1. Courtney January 14, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

    Get that pregnancy pillow STAT! Seriously – that will fix the sleep and aches and pains rather quickly! I put this off far too long the first time I was pregnant. I haven’t gotten one yet for this pregnancy (I borrowed from a friend last time) but will shortly.

    I think you may start to enjoy being pregnant here soon. I swear, once you can feel that baby move quite a bit, it really is fun being pregnant!

    • Ms. Future PharmD January 15, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

      Belle’s “life raft” description is accurate – get one! I went from achy and not sleeping at 15 weeks to sleeping very well for the next 14ish, a feat I consider miraculous, all due to the giant pregnancy pillow.

  2. sams January 14, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

    That’s an interesting chart you linked in your first paragraph. I had no idea. I am exactly as far along as you – 18w2d today – and I’ve been telling people that I’m 4 1/2 month along. I don’t expect to go until 40 weeks either since we are having fraternal twins. We’ve been told June 1 or possibly earlier. I hope I can make it until June and not deliver in May because my mom’s birthday was in June. 🙂

    • Shelley January 17, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

      You are 4 1/2 months along but you are IN your fifth month. I kind of like to think forward like that, just because I’m really looking forward to having him be here and having my body back!

  3. Gina January 14, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    Woohoo! You’re (more than) half way! So amazing!

  4. Jenny January 14, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

    I nodded along to most of this post. The hunger is crazy! Yesterday I stuffed my face so much that I was up half the night with acid reflux. I’ve heard the pregnancy pillows can help with that, too, so I think I definitely need to buy one.

    As you know, I USED to think that people who kept the name a secret were annoying. Now I just see them as wise. Definitely keep it to yourself! People are far too opinionated about these things.

  5. Amy Skins January 14, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

    I disliked pregnancy too. I don’t know who these women are who find it this enjoyable, transcendent experience. But then – I like flying in commercial airliners. Some people thing I’m a glutton for punishment in my own way. 😛

    We didn’t tell the name either. I think that’s a good approach. (Obviously, lol.)

    Have you checked out Baby Bargains? They have tons of product reviews and recommendations. It really helped me focus my registry.

    You are getting there!!

  6. Cristy January 14, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

    Congratulations reaching this milestone!!! Very awesome, indeed.

    I fully support you not sharing the name you’ve picked. Mainly because so many people have opinions about stuff like this when it is literally none of their business (unless someone is naming their child “Stoney” . . . then maybe it’s worth having a chat).

    Hang in there, lady. You’re almost halfway done.

    • Shelley January 17, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

      What’s wrong with Stoney? 😛 That is a nickname for one of the names we considered a bit.

  7. Keisha January 14, 2013 at 11:33 pm #

    Snoogle pillow. It was the only way I could sleep from week 20 on. If you need any help with figuring out what you want/need for a registry, I can help.
    I will say that Fisher Price products are awesome and the customer service is great. A Rock and Play is better than having a bassinet if you are planning on any kind of co-sleeping. Let me know if you have any questions, because lots of stores will tell you that you need all sorts of shit that you really can live without.
    Happy 18 Weeks! Doesn’t it feel surreal to be here?

    • Shelley January 15, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

      I seriously want to have you review my registry before we send it around to people. Would you be willing??

  8. Kristin January 15, 2013 at 2:13 am #

    I really love the Baby 2 See website, too! Lots of good information. I also reference the chart for clarity. Handy, indeed!

  9. Belle January 15, 2013 at 2:39 am #

    Pillow is a must! I cant’ tell you how much better my nights are now that I have the huge U shaped pillow. I am not sure the Professor and cat would agree, but whatever, they are not gestating, now are there? 🙂 Also, I’ve found the book Baby Bargains to be a HUGE help in figuring out what we need vs. what the retail industry things we need. They have a website, too. Congrats on the 18 week milestone!

  10. dspence January 15, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

    Wow – halfway already! Congrats!

  11. Aplatanada January 16, 2013 at 12:20 am #

    Ditto on the pregnancy pillow. I inherited one from a friend (don’t know the name, unfortunately), and have slept with it since week 9 or so. As I get bigger (and bigger!) I’m really seeing the value.

    Also ditto on the book Baby Bargains. I’ve found it really useful.

    But mostly, glad you are feeling better!!

  12. Lindsay January 16, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

    Seriously get a pillow, they don’t cure everything, but definitely help, the extra weight out on your it’s and back when you sleep can really get to you!! So exciting your crib arrived, doesn’t that make it feel so much more real?? PS. Did you hear Dr. B is gone, he now works in Rochester. That made me so sad, I know he was your doctor and he is the one that did both my retrieval and transfer!

    • Shelley January 17, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

      Wait seriously, he’s really gone!? I can’t believe it! Oh man, wait til I tell DH. I’m really kind of upset about this for when we want to try again with our remaining embryos. 😦

      • Aplatanada January 18, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

        Talk about a small world… I just got on to the local moms of multiples board and saw a thread about REs. There numerous posts about how everyone had this great RE who moved to Boston a few years ago… named Dr. Buster! I immediately thought of you!

Leave a Reply

