14 weeks 5 days

20 Dec

Farmgirl Fare - baby turtle 1

 

I got back from my back-to-back OB appointments a little while ago and I’m happy to report that baby Turtle is GROWING!

Going into today’s ultrasound, I was once again nervous. Ultrasounds have been a high-stress moment for us all along during this pregnancy. In my mind, it was entirely possible we’d see a lack of growth or perhaps even no heartbeat. You know how the post-infertile mind works. Or is it how the post-infertile, post-first tri bleeding and spotting, post-vanishing twin, post-gastroschisis diagnosis mind works? (Not that I feel I’m no longer an infertile because after you’ve walked this road, it’s impossible to unknow what you know. Once an infertile, always an infertile.)

I even told my parents, who asked if after Christmas they can start telling more people, like cousins, that anyone you tell is someone you may have to untell. Crazy talk for the second trimester? I didn’t think so.

But how could I doubt our little Turtle!? Our little fighter? Of course he/she is still growing strong. Measuring right on track! We saw leg bones and arm bones and a bladder and god, the most gorgeous spine. The spine has got to be one of the coolest things upon which to gaze via ultrasound. And we got double confirmation once again from Dr. Kind that it is definitely just a gastroschisis. (There was a moment when the ultrasound tech made me fear otherwise but she didn’t know what she was talking about. He came in and then called her back in to show her exactly why it’s a gastroschisis and not an omphalocele.) Other than that, all is looking good!

Then we met with our delivery OB. I’ll go with Dr. Caring for her for now. This was our initial intake appointment with her practice and wow – what a difference from the first practice I was with near home. Unlike that first appointment, I felt like Dr. Caring actually gave a shit about us! Imagine that. In fact, I got the impression that she cared a great deal about us, and that she will take very good care of us indeed. She knows we want to do a vaginal birth if possible (big if) and she has even delivered gastro babies vaginally before. She recommended I get a flu shot (did you know pregnant women are 3x more likely to get the flu?) and they were able to give it to me right there in the office.

Between Dr. Kind and Dr. Caring, I feel completely confident that we’ll be getting excellent care. Tomorrow is another big moment: our first visit to Children’s and first meeting with a pediatric surgeon. I’m a tad nervous but also excited. Plus we’ll get to see our Turtle again!

16 Responses to “14 weeks 5 days”

  1. Jenny December 20, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

    Great news. Go turtle! 🙂

  2. Kristin December 20, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    I’ve heard about this flu shot business. I’ve never had the flu shot but I do have tetanus shot PTSD. Is it awful?!

  3. Hattie December 20, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

    So glad you’re appointments went well. Sounds like you are in great hands!

  4. Katie December 21, 2012 at 1:34 am #

    Yes! Glad turtle is growing so well! Let us know how tomorrow goes!

  5. Keisha December 21, 2012 at 2:42 am #

    You sound so happy! Have fun looking at your Turtle again tomorrow!

  6. Aplatanada December 21, 2012 at 3:04 am #

    Yay for happy ultrasound! Of course Turtle is a fighter- look at the mama! 🙂

  7. Amy Skins December 21, 2012 at 3:17 am #

    Oh Shelley – so happy!

    I agree – the spine is the most amazing thing to see on ultrasound.

    And I’m so so so glad that you have great care providers!!! What a relief, to have people who care who you can trust!

    Looking forward to more good stuff tomorrow!

  8. slese1014 December 21, 2012 at 4:05 am #

    I am so SO happy to hear about Dr Caring. A good OB is definitely a must. Or midwife or whatever the birthing plan is….Having a good relationship with that provider is crucial to allowing a pleasant experience throughout the pregnancy. So glad you had a good ultrasound…and the spine is really cool to see! Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers!

  9. Tutti December 21, 2012 at 6:47 am #

    I had this weird flash back to when you were first going into this treatment- full of ambivalence. You were downright calm. And now, here you are- at 14 weeks. Not the pregnancy you expected, but no less special. Reflection is something done in abundance this time of year, but I feel like yours… gives hope. At least for those of us on the other side of the fence. Bright holidays and lots of cheer to you my dear Shelly.

  10. cindysn December 21, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    good news!!!

  11. JustHeather December 21, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    i always found myself to be nervous the night before an appt, always! very understandable. so glad to hear you’ve found caring and wonderful doctors!

  12. Courtney December 21, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    It sounds to me like you are getting fabulous care! That makes me very happy!

    I’m always amazed to see that our baby has grown too. I wonder why that is!

  13. Gina December 21, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    Yay! Sounds like it’s finally a doctor’s visit without drama! You are in good hands and Dr. Caring really gives a shit! Little Turtle is a fighter! Go Turtle!

  14. Alicia December 22, 2012 at 2:43 am #

    Awesome! Great to hear that baby turtle is growing stronger every day!

  15. iamstacey December 24, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    Catching up on your blog since listening to the Bitter Infertiles podcast (found thru Mo’s blog). So glad for good news on Turtle! Have a very happy holidays!

  16. Alissa December 24, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    I am so glad you have a competent team looking after you. It’s always wonderful to hear good news at an ultrasound. All the best to you and Turtle.

Leave a Reply

