One step at a time

5 Dec

Sorry for the delayed update on our ultrasound a couple days ago! The good news is that it put our minds and hearts at ease in many ways, which also made me not feel the immediate and urgent need to blog.

Here’s the bottom line:

1. At this point, it looks like we’re definitely dealing with gastroschisis – but only gastroschisis. This is great news. Gastroschisis is not associated with any other issues or genetic problems and is relatively easy to fix with no major lasting problems. So that was a big relief! They also checked for Down’s syndrome with the nuchal translucency measurement, which they said was within normal range. They did order some genetic bloodwork to test for a few things, just in case, but we’re looking good at this point on that front.

2. We started assembling our team of doctors and understanding better how everything will work once the baby is born, which was again, a huge relief. The OB we saw was the head of this maternal fetal medicine (aka high risk pregnancy) practice and we loved him. He just had a very genuine, easy, relaxed way about him that put us at ease. So he will be our high risk OB, in charge of all the monitoring throughout the pregnancy and making decisions regarding the gastroschisis. He doesn’t deliver, however, so we needed to get another OB for that. He recommended someone in his same building and even called her for us. Then she came down to his office to meet us! She was very nice and he said she’s very sought after. She will deliver our baby and will handle all the regular obstetric stuff throughout our pregnancy. So now instead of one midwife, I have two OBs! I feel fortunate to have such a qualified team; they both teach at Harvard Medical School and are highly esteemed in their fields.

3. He also started the process of reaching out to the fetal care center at Children’s Hospital that will handle the surgery for us after Turtle is born. At some point (hopefully soon), we will go meet with the team of doctors and surgeons who will be handling this and will get even more questions answered. So I will deliver at one hospital (Beth Israel), then the baby will be transferred to Children’s (across the street) for the surgery. This is another relief that we’ll be going through Children’s in Boston, the top pediatric hospital in the U.S. We feel so lucky to live so close to it!

So that’s the long and short of it. We still have a lot of hurdles ahead. Our high-risk OB (I shall call him Dr. Kind) said it’s likely Turtle’s stomach opening is on the larger side. This isn’t great from a cosmetic point of view but can mean that the organs will be healthier as a smaller opening can sometimes choke off the intestine. I’m guessing though that this means it’s also possible that more organs can fall out, which we don’t want because that will mean we’ll have to have a C-section. We just have to watch carefully. It is possible to go to term and have a vaginal delivery, really just depends on the health and growth of the baby and the extent of the gastroschisis. But this was another encouraging thing to hear.

My next appointment is in two weeks with both Dr. Kind and the delivery OB (she has yet to be named). Thanks as always for all the love and support this week! I so needed it.

In other news, episode 13 is now live!

25 Responses to “One step at a time”

  1. Jenny December 5, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    I’m so glad you have such a great team of doctors to see you through this. That must be such a huge relief to you.

    I’ve been thinking of you and Turtle a lot and will continue to send you both happy, healthy thoughts. *hugs*

  2. Tutti December 5, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    I can only imagine your relief at these answers after the terror of the original news. Between the diagnosis and your new medical team, I hope you have a renewed sense of hope. It sounds like you and turtle will be very well cared for. Not that it matters, but I was delivered at Beth Israel back in the day.

  3. nonsequiturchica December 5, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    It sounds like you and Turtle are going to be in GREAT hands. It’s definitely going to be scary and hectic, but if it only means a surgery early on with a scar for the rest of his life and nothing else then it could definitely be worse (my husband has a large scar down the middle of his chest from childhood and it hasn’t affected him one bit).

  4. Esperanza December 5, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    It sounds like you have the best team working for you and Turtle and I canjust tell from your writing how much better you feel. I’m so happy this appointment put you at ease, at least for now.

    Sending love and light.

  5. B. just cycling along December 5, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    I am so glad that you have a good doctors that you are comfortable and confident with…that is huge! Also so relieved that there were no further complications. Will continue thinking of you and Turtle.

  6. slese1014 December 5, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    Glad to hear you got some good news out of this….I’ll be emailing you soon, promise…birthday celebration is delaying things a bit 🙂

  7. Seagull December 5, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

    I was thinking about you and so glad the u/s and visit put your mind at ease. Yay for some reassuring news and gl as you move through this part of your journey.

  8. Joanna December 5, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

    I am so thankful you have such a wonderful team of doctors on your side, and I think you are in the best possible place for you and your precious Turtle. I know this is all so overwhelming and at times, very very discouraging. But remember how much you and Turtle are already loved and know that I, and all the other fantastic ladies in the blogosphere, are here to support you every step of the way. Thinking of you both every day and still sending love and prayers.

  9. Katie December 5, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Oh good, I was hoping you’d feel better with a plan. As always, sending good thoughts your way!

  10. Marisa S December 5, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    I’m so glad to hear that you got some good news! And it sounds like you have a great team so far. It must be so reassuring to have such great doctors at your side. I’ve been thinking about you a lot! Sending you strength and hope!

  11. Kate @ Infertile First Mom December 5, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    I’m so glad to hear that it was not worst case scenario, and that you guys feel so good about the team of doctors you are already working with! Sounds like you are in good hands, and so is your little Turtle. That is such a relief!

  12. sass December 5, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    Big sigh. This is full of encouraging news. I know you still have a long road ahead. If there is ever anything I can do, let me know! I’m going to visit BIDMC tonight for a tour. I’ve heard that it’s a great hospital, and it sounds like you have a fantastic team assembling around you.

  13. Courtney December 5, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    I like your attitude – you sound very positive! That makes me happy!

  14. sams December 5, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    Hooray! I’m so happy that you received such encouraging news at your last u/s! Way to go on getting a team and a plan in place already. Praying for that little baby of yours!

  15. AmyG December 5, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

    Glad things are looking so manageable! You are all on my mind. Courage.

  16. Kristin December 6, 2012 at 1:01 am #

    I’m so glad that the scan revealed the lesser of the two diagnoses! What a relief! It also sounds like you have a great plan of action moving forward. I hope that this helps with the stress!

  17. Adriane December 6, 2012 at 1:22 am #

    I am so glad to hear that things are looking so positive. I’ve been thinking about you and checking in on your blog. I’m sorry I haven’t chimed in sooner. I’m keeping you and turtle in my heart, though.

  18. marwil December 6, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    First of all, I’m so so sorry about this diagnosis and the stress and fear it is causing. It’s a horrible thing to learn that your baby is not well and healthy. I was so glad to read this last update, even though it isn’t at all what you expected and dreamed about as a start for your baby and family – you will get through. Your baby will need surgery and intense medical care but he/she will be here with you, with hopefully little to none complications. That’s the most important thing. What a relief it must be after this last check-up.

  19. geochick December 6, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    In the scheme of things this sounds like great news!

  20. Ms. Future PharmD December 6, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    Yay for best case scenario of the options you were looking at! Yay for an excellent team and great OBs you really like! Thinking continued happy thoughts for all of you as you learn to cope with these new challenges.

  21. Treana December 7, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    Hello, I went for a scan today I am 13w 3d and found out my baby has gastroschisis we are worried and just wondering of you can tell us anything about it?

    • Shelley December 11, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

      Hi there, I’m sorry to hear you’re in the same boat as me. I am actually a few days behind you in my pregnancy, so still in the same early stages as you of figuring everything out. I’m not sure that I’d be able to tell you much more than what you can find online. That all said, I plan to share my journey on here so hopefully you can follow along and learn along with me from there.

  22. Amanda @ readingeachpage.blogspot.com December 8, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    I’m glad this is so fixable and that you have such an amazing team watching out for the baby.

  23. Alissa December 8, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

    I’m so glad to hear this. I have been thinking about you a lot and was on pins and needles. It’s encouraging to hear that you have your team in place and are being taken care of. It sounds like you have a plan and things will turn out just fine. I know it throws a huge wrench in your ideal delivery and recovery, but I don’t hear anything that suggests your baby will have lasting issues. I am just happy and relieved. Hang on tight, we are all here for you.

  24. Aplatanada December 8, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    Must be a huge relief to get more information and to know you will be in such good care! it sounds like you have some AWESOME medical providers taking care of you and Tutrle, which is fabulous. Thinking of ouy!

Leave a Reply

