A few things…

20 Nov

A few things…

Episode 11 of Bitter Infertiles is now live – yipee! Go and listen, then go send Cristy some love! She has a lot riding on this current FET cycle and is, understandably, very jittery about it. I dare any of you to think of a time when Cristy hasn’t been there for you. Time to pay it back. Also, big thanks to Jenny of Stupid Stork for joining us!

-Update on me: I guess everything is going along okay? I haven’t had an ultrasound in weeks so I’m always wondering, is my baby still alive in there? I find it hard to believe I could really be 10 weeks 3 days. So I take it with a giant grain of salt. I’m 10 weeks 3 days but let’s wait until the next ultrasound to know for sure.

-My symptoms persist. All day nausea is still there. It’s such a pain, though I try to take comfort in it as my only sign that this pregnancy is continuing to grow. I’ve also started having occasional round ligament pain and, when I’ve been sitting at my desk for a few hours, lower back aches. The spotting has lessened but is always hovering. Lately it’s been mostly in the form of light brown stained CM.

-I have decided to stop feeling bad about complaining about the nausea. I’m an infertile, not a masochist. Just because I worked a little harder than others to get here doesn’t mean I have to enjoy feeling like shit all day.

-We’ve started telling a few friends, which freaks me out. And I’m super freaked out for Thursday (Thanksgiving) when we plan to tell a whole heap of family members in person. I had hoped to find the heartbeat on the doppler before we did this but… no dice. If anyone out there is thinking of buying one, spring for one of the nicer ones! We went cheap and now we regret it.

-I am overwhelmed by how much I have to be thankful for this year. My amazing husband who has become the sole caretaker for me, our dog, our cat, and the whole household (including cooking and cleaning), my supportive parents who reach out to see how I am every day, my work that has been so understanding, but most of all this little one inside me that has remained strong despite being thrown quite a few curveballs early on.

-Wishing you all a very happy Thanksgiving.

19 Responses to “A few things…”

  1. Theresa November 20, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    What doppler did you get?

    • Theresa November 20, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

      Crap hit send too soon – I had trouble finding the heartbeats at first myself, because I was searching too high. I found them almost at my pelvic bone, FWIW

      • Shelley November 20, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

        We got the AngelSounds one and I’ve been looking down there!!

      • Theresa November 21, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

        Grr. how frustrating.

  2. Tami November 20, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    I’m glad things are going so well. You have a lot to be thankful for.

  3. sams November 20, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    Amen on the nausea. I have no issues complaining about how bad it is. It’s kept me from blogging for the past month! I feel as though I could vomit at any given time throughout the day (or night). My ob has recommended taking vitamin B6 four times per day and half a pill of Unisom twice per day to combat my ickiness (not sure how that’s going to work out since Unisom is a sleep aid). I figure it’s worth a shot so I’ll try to persuade my hubby to pick some up for me at the store this evening.

  4. nonsequiturchica November 20, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    “I have decided to stop feeling bad about complaining about the nausea. I’m an infertile, not a masochist. Just because I worked a little harder than others to get here doesn’t mean I have to enjoy feeling like shit all day.”

    YES. I COMPLETELY AGREE WITH THIS STATEMENT!

  5. Courtney November 20, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    Happy thanksgiving to you!

    I never had nausea with my first baby. I have it with this one. I always said I wouldn’t complain… but holy hell – this is hard. You are right – we’re not masochists 😉 I hope your nausea goes away soon… but not before there’s another symptom (or scan) to remind you that you’re still pregnant 😉

  6. Aplatanada November 20, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    ABSOLUTELY stop feeling bad for talking about the nausea!!! We can totally be grateful for where we are while still feeling like crap.

    Have a great Thanksgiving!

  7. Gina November 20, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    Don’t feel bad for complaining about the nausea. It’s awful. Koodos to DH! This is a very special Thanksgiving for the both of you!

  8. Amy Skins November 20, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    I don’t know how much doppler quality has to do with finding the HB, but with my son, my midwife, with a professional grade doppler I guess, couldn’t find it until 14 weeks. It may just be too early yet.

  9. Hattie November 20, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    Great statement on the nausea. So true.

    Could you just go to your ob for a quick Doppler check? I did that a couple of times in the early second trimester and it definitely helped me stay sane. Might be worth trying to do before Thursday.

  10. Keisha November 20, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    Telling people is scary and freaky. I was terrified that somehow speaking it out loud and letting people know would somehow cause something to go wrong.
    And you are right about complaining. There’s no need to be a martyr; you feel lousy and should be able to say so. There’s a huge difference between admitting you feel like shit and rubbing it in someone’s face.
    Happy Thanksgiving, Shelley!

  11. Alicia November 21, 2012 at 3:17 am #

    Yay for 10 weeks 3 days!!!!!

  12. danielletoendure November 21, 2012 at 4:55 am #

    So happy and excited for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Having a good doppler is definitely key! Good luck with your Thanksgiving announcement! So much to be thankful for!

  13. Stupid Stork November 21, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    Yaaaay! Twas fun, Chiquita Banana – thanks for letting me guest host. 😉

  14. Cristy November 22, 2012 at 3:37 am #

    Happy Thanksgiving to you, my friend. I’m thankful to have your support and love. And I’m wishing you a wonderful week/weekend of sharing this wonderful news with your family.

    And I fully support you for stopping the apologies. Seriously, nausea is no fun and you’ve been through hell and back just to get to this point. So no apologies.

  15. linds2433 November 22, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    Ahh I held out on getting a Doppler and I really wish I hadn’t!! I’m sure in just a few days/ weeks you will be able to pick up that heartbeat and what excitement and reassurance it will bring. Hope you can enjoy the holidays and enjoy being pregnant 🙂

  16. ewagner123 November 25, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    Sounds like you had a good holiday. Good luck in your pregnancy.

    I nominated you for a Liebster Award. Please check out my blog for the questions.
    http://www.wantinganotherwagner.wordpress.com

    Emily

Leave a Reply

