Graduation

7 Nov

This morning found us once again on pins and needles going into our “graduation” appointment at the RE. Yesterday I had a gush of bright red blood, the largest amount yet. It was definitely unnerving, but I really tried to keep my head on. That’s not to say I didn’t entertain the possibility that it was all over but either I’m getting numb or I’m just tired after so many weeks of being jerked around.

It took a second for my searching eyes to find that little flicker when they first inserted the wand but before long, there it was. Flickering away. At 188 bpm. Which they said was very good. The baby was also measuring right on track and is actually starting to look like a baby! We could clearly see the head, the little belly, and the arm and leg buds. DH said he/she looked like a little turtle, so that will be our new nickname for the little one!

It was a surreal appointment in a lot of ways. I can’t really believe it’s over with my RE. Our favorite ultrasound tech really took her time today, showing us everything, the spine, the yolk sac, the placenta, everything she could see. She took way more pictures than usual and even said, “Don’t tell them how many pictures I gave you!” She’s been such a doll and I’m really going to miss her! We both gave her long hugs as we left today.

The spotting/bleeding, they’re not overly concerned about. They said it could have been the hematoma as they weren’t really seeing it today, or perhaps the other sac, which is still in there, still big and you can see the “remnants” floating around in there. The good news is we have a strong heartbeat and a little baby that continues to grow. We’ve never gotten this far and now I’m really starting to get excited.

Of course I woke up this morning with the worst case of nausea… I could barely move! If not for the u/s, I wouldn’t have left my bed. Our doc recommended an OB at Tufts, but if we go with her, that means we’ll have to get into the city to deliver. At rush hour, thats an hour+ commute! I’m not sure I quite feel ready to deal with figuring out where to deliver (thoughts on that to come), but it appears the time is upon us. Nuts.

Thanks to all who thought good thoughts, today and all the days leading up to today. This has been a rocky road for us all but I think the time has come to exhale a tiny amount and allow myself to entertain the hope of a take home baby here.

25 Responses to “Graduation”

  1. nonsequiturchica November 7, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    Congratulations on graduating!! Sounds like a great appointment!

  2. Cristy November 7, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    WEEEE!!!!! This is fantastic news!! Congratulations on graduating!!! May the bleeding/spotting subside and your new OB extra fabulous.

  3. Gina November 7, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Graduation! Wow! It does seem surreal! You’ve been through so much and I am absolutely excited for you! You’re well on your way to seeing the little turtle in a few more months! Congrats!!

  4. Courtney November 7, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    Graduating is so hard! Our RE’s take such great care of us, and going to an OB and being a “regular” patient is daunting. I cried on our way out of the RE’s office when I was 8w4d with Matthew because I was going to miss them.

    This is good news though – and I’m excited for you!

  5. Lydia November 7, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    Take home baby, aww. That made me tear up. Congratulations!

  6. Amy Skins November 7, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

    Fantastic news. Congratulations! Grow, Turtle, grow!!!

    In terms of choosing a care provider, I highly recommend a midwife. My midwife practice doesn’t consider IVF to be a risk factor and would take you in a heartbeat (if you lived in CO, lol). If you still want to be under the care of an OB (as opposed to solely a midwife), look for an OB practice that includes midwives. Most midwives (and any midwife worth her salt) provide a lot of emotional support, and you may need it!

    Okay, that’s all the unsolicited advice you’ll get from me. But if I can support you or give you any *solicited* advice on any subject, let me know. I’d love to share with you! Other than that, I’ll just spend my energy being ridiculously happy for you!!

  7. Kristin November 7, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    Congrats, Grad!

  8. Azul November 7, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    Congrats!! Very happy to hear all looks good. I’ve been reading your blog since I started listening to Bitter Infertiles… which by the way I absolutely love!!
    Good luck finding a OB! 🙂

  9. B. just cycling along November 7, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    Congrats on graduating!! So happy that the baby is doing well and has a nice strong heartbeat! your appointment sounds awesome and detailed, aand I am very jealous of all your pictures! 🙂

  10. Jenny November 7, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    Congratulations on graduating! Whoo-hoo!

  11. Lisa November 7, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    Happy Graduation Day!

  12. Katie November 7, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    Oh my gosh, this is so so exciting! I am so happy that little heart is beating away in there! Yeah!

  13. EmilyE November 7, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    Yay! Just the news I was hoping to hear! So exciting. And it will only get more so from here on in. I hope the nausea desists and soon!

  14. slese1014 November 7, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

    graduation is HUGE!!! I’m so happy you have made it this far! Each day is a milestone….that heart beating away is fabulous!!! Keeping you in my thoughts!

  15. Alicia November 7, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

    Congrats!!!! This is great news!

  16. Tami November 8, 2012 at 1:05 am #

    Graduating is a big deal. Congrats.

  17. Trisha November 8, 2012 at 3:19 am #

    So THRILLED to hear that all is well! Happy graduation to you guys and little turtle!

  18. JustHeather November 8, 2012 at 7:48 am #

    Congratulations, Shelley! Wonderful news.

  19. jjiraffe November 8, 2012 at 8:33 am #

    Great news, Shelley. Congrats on graduating too 🙂

  20. Emily November 8, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    Yay Yay YAY!!! Congrats! I hope you feel slightly less anxious. Hi, Turtle!! Can’t wait to see your photos!!

  21. cindysn November 8, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    It feels great to graduate but a little nerve wracking since you wont be monitored as closely

  22. Aplatanada November 8, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    Yay!!!!!! What wonderful news! So, so glad to see things are progressing nicely. Every day, more progress. So excited for you!!!

  23. Ms. Future PharmD November 8, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

    Wahoo! Yay graduating! Yay things going all right!

  24. AmyG November 9, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

    Congratulations, graduate! Wow — arms and legs and everything. Very very exciting.

  25. Alissa November 13, 2012 at 2:48 am #

    I’m so glad to hear the u/s went so well. Just take it day by day and know you have time to make a lot of decisions. Just relax while you can and believe in your baby. I know how scary it is, but you are doing really well!

Leave a Reply

