8 weeks, 2 days

5 Nov

An update on me is overdue. I apologize. I’ve just been trying to survive these past few weeks. I’m not going to lie, with the all-day nausea and frequent vomiting, it’s been tough. But I haven’t wanted to complain and so, radio silence.

Anyways, here’s what’s up:

-Today marks 8 weeks, 2 days. Never ever thought I’d get this far. It kind of freaks me out on a few different levels that I’ll blog about soon.

-My spotting had been going down but today I wiped bright red blood again. I know I have a small hematoma, and I also know that right now I’m not having any cramping or pain. So I’m going to go ahead and not freak out, despite my instinct to do so.

-My next ultrasound is on Wednesday, anyways. At which point I’ll be 8 weeks, 4 days. At which point, if all looks well, it’ll be time to choose an OB. Which is a whole other set of challenges that I’ll blog about soon. I am just really focused at this point on getting through Wednesday and still having a heartbeat.

-In no way am I assuming this will all work out. I hate thinking about the future of this pregnancy because I have so much fear. Everyone tells me to be positive, but it’s been tough, between the vanishing twin, the spotting, and the sickness.

-Today I’m wearing acupressure sea sickness bands on my wrists which are supposed to help with the nausea. I’m definitely still nauseous but feeling just a shade better, just enough to make it through the day I think. I’ll take whatever I can get, even if I do look like an 80s aerobics girl.

-Other symptoms include: exhaustion (in bed by about 8:30 every night, usually after already snoozing on the couch a bit), strange tastes in my mouth, vivid dreams, restlessness in the early hours. I do not have very sore breasts, nor am I experiencing very much frequent peeing.

Okay, sorry for the scattered nature of this post, it was all I could manage. I’ll be back on Wednesday with an update on the ultrasound. Maybe if all looks well after that, I’ll finally get around to making that separate pregnancy page here. Maybe.

13 Responses to “8 weeks, 2 days”

  1. sass November 5, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

    I hope you feel better very soon. I’ll be thinking of you on Wednesday!

  2. slese1014 November 5, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    I am so sorry about the all day nausea…that sucks. I hope it gets better for you…I will definitely be thinking of you on Wednesday!

  3. Theresa November 5, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    Waiting for good news Wednesday!

  4. Courtney November 5, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

    Good luck with your ultrasound. Man – I am living in fear of mine right now. I just want it over.

    I wish you were feeling better, but I’m glad you have some symptoms. I’m a bit jealous!

  5. nonsequiturchica November 5, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

    Good luck with the ultrasound! I hope your symptoms get a little better (but not completely because then you might freak out). πŸ™‚

  6. Tami November 5, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Morning sickness is no joke. Only having experienced it once for a very short time did I understand how all consuming it is. But with each wave of nausea try to remind yourself that this is what you’ve been waiting for. In the end, the sickness is so very worth it. Looking forward to your update on Wednesday.

  7. Jenny November 5, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

    I hope the sea sickness bands help!

    I’ll be thinking of you on Wednesday.

  8. Lindsay November 5, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    Even thou the nausea sucks it is just more evidence that your little one is snuggled in!! Hope you get a beautiful u/s picture in a few days…I was and still am so sad after leaving my RE!!

  9. Kristin November 5, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    Oof. Nausea is rough! I hope the sea bands help. I had a friend hospitalized for morning sickness. She had some mild relief, though obviously not that much because she was still hospitalized, by smelling peppermint and/or ginger essential oils. One or two drops on a tissue. Waft around the face, or perhaps place ten feet away and let it come your way. (I would try this at the store before purchasing.)

  10. Joanna November 5, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    Good to hear from you! I totally get the radio silence, sometimes its hard to find the words that will translate your feelings the best. I’m sorry for the continued bleeding, that can be worrisome even if you tell yourself not to. As far as the 80’s sweat bands (LOL) I tried those too without any relief! And I felt pretty ridiculous! Good luck Wednesday, I will be sending positive vibes your way! Big hugs!

  11. jjiraffe November 6, 2012 at 7:00 am #

    Nausea is rough! Hope the sea bands help. Good luck with your appointment on Wednesday πŸ™‚

  12. cindysn November 7, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    I feel you with the nausea…it hasnt stopped for me and I try everything…I hope it stops for you soon…good luck on your sono!!!

  13. Amy Simpkins November 7, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    Thinking about you today, and anxiously awaiting your update. Holding you in my heart, as ever.

Leave a Reply

