Episode 9

31 Oct

Episode 9 (9 -wow!) of Bitter Infertiles is now livety-live-live. This one is another heavy episode, wherein we focus on baby loss. We are joined in this special episode by the wonderful Alissa of MissConception, who has set a beautiful example of how to honor and remember rainbow babies in her ongoing tributes to her lost twins, Michael and Alena. I admire her immensely and was so glad to have her on.

I’m a little quieter than usual in this episode, mainly because I didn’t feel equipped to counsel on this topic. In my mind, early miscarriage and baby loss are two VASTLY different things. Not everyone feels this way though. The mom of the family I used to nanny for had experienced two early losses. When an older woman she worked with found out about them, she said, oh I’m so sorry, I’ve been there. But she had never had any miscarriages or even experienced baby loss. She was referring to the loss of her 18 year old son. In her mind, they were one in the same. Loss of a child.

Anyways, I tried to express this in the episode but I’m not sure how eloquently I did so.

In other news, happy Halloween! I plan to spend it curled up in a ball on my couch, trying to forget the agony of today. It was my first day working back in the office (instead of from home), in almost two whole weeks and it’s been all I can do to stop myself from vomiting all over my desk.

2 Responses to “Episode 9”

  1. sams October 31, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

    I’ve never suffered a m/c (knock on wood) but even I don’t see how an early loss is the same as losing an 18 year old child. Maybe this woman just has an amazing amount of empathy.

    I am so with you on the nausea. As miserable as it is, I’m glad to hear I’m not alone.

  2. sass November 1, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    I hope you’re feeling better today!

Leave a Reply

