Brief update

22 Oct

Here’s a tip to all the nervous, newly pregnant: if you’re looking for a way to convince your clinic to give you frequent, early ultrasounds, just commence spotting and bleeding on a regular basis and you’ll be in like Flynn.

Kidding!

But seriously. Bleeding, cramping, it’s like last Wednesday all over again except it’s only five days later. They want to see me in again this morning for another ultrasound, just one short week earlier than when I was originally scheduled for. This time I’m insisting DH attend because I’m fairly certain we’re either getting bad news or seeing heartbeats. Or some mix of the two.

And get this, when I called this morning, the other nurse said, “I heard at your ultrasound last week they saw a third sac that was bleeding out.” Oh I’m sorry, what? “No, uh, they told me it was two sacs and a hematoma.” “Oh right, a hematoma then. Well in that case you’ll probably have bleeding throughout your first trimester.”

Okay…

Who the hell knows what’s going on in my body right now. I am incapacitated with ever worsening nausea. And yet I’m bleeding like a light period. Go figure.

Will update with actual news when I can.

11 Responses to “Brief update”

  1. cindysn October 22, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    good luck at the ultrasound!!! I had bleeding and was freaking out until we saw the heartbeat

  2. Sarah October 22, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    hoping everything is OK!

  3. B. just cycling along October 22, 2012 at 1:59 pm #

    Good luck! Will be thinking of you and anxiously awaiting an update!

  4. steph50 October 22, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    Good luck!! Keep us posted!

  5. cassiedash October 22, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    You’ll be in my thoughts all day long. Keeping my fingers crossed and saying a prayer for the best of news!!

  6. Sunshine October 22, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    How scary. I’m glad they are being so proactive with the monitoring though. They need to get their stories straight. I hope you see two beautiful strong heartbeats!

  7. Theresa October 22, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    Keep us posted!!!!

  8. Jenny October 22, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    Good luck. I’ll be sending you lots of good thoughts.

  9. sass October 22, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    I am thinking of you. And, yes, it is a “wonderful” way to have many extra ultrasounds. I started calling them “quick checks,” because after a while I couldn’t get myself to get all worked up over them. Not because I suddently felt confident, but because I had no energy left. That said, at least for me, it was fine in the end. I hope it’s the same for you. No, I hope that your bleeding stops for good soon! I’m sorry that you have to deal with this stress.

  10. sams October 22, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    I can’t believe the nurse actually said that to you! I would definitely be asking some questions about that at your next appointment.

  11. Amanda (http://readingeachpage.blogspot.com/) October 22, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    I hope you have a great ultrasound!

Leave a Reply

