Beta #2 Results

10 Oct

You guys. I have been crawling up the walls today. Couldn’t think or focus. Could barely speak I was feeling so anxious. I definitely, definitely, definitely need to find a way to calm down. Like for real. Maybe time to go back to acupuncture.

I even called the office early to tell them to please, please call me because I thought I was maybe having an anxiety attack.

The number is in. The number is… fine. They’re happy enough with it that they’re not bringing me back in for a repeat beta for another WEEK. Jesus Christ.

2,538. Up from 1,508 in 46 hours. Doubling time of about 60 hours. (They didn’t tell me all this of course, I calculated it immediately upon hanging up the phone. She so didn’t want me to though. When I said, “it didn’t double,” she was like, “don’t even go there, it’s a good number, Dr. B is not worried.”)

Words that the nurse used to describe it: good, solid, robust, nice rise.

Progesterone, which I specifically asked to test, came back at 34.99, which is apparently good as well. If all looks good next Wednesday when my next beta is scheduled for (aka in 100 years), they’ll schedule an ultrasound for sometime between 6 1/2 – 7 1/2 weeks. So sometime during the week of Oct. 22nd – 30th.

I don’t know why I’ve been so tortured. I hate myself for this post. For not just relaxing and enjoying. We finally did it! Β Why can’t I be there right now? Why can’t I be happy?

From wait to wait to wait. Out of the frying pan, into the fire.

35 Responses to “Beta #2 Results”

  1. sams October 10, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    I hear you! I was a mix of calm and anxious, scary nerves as I waited for my second beta number yesterday. And they didn’t call me until 3:30! I had nightmares of it being bad news because they waited so long to call me. But (huge sigh of relief), my numbers were great! Did they give you a due date? Mine is June 25 – I bet we’re really close!

    • Shelley October 10, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

      Ugh, no. They’re more cautious than that, which I guess is good. They won’t even commit to an ultrasound date until after the 3rd beta. It also probably depends on the whole, you know, one or two issue. πŸ˜‰ 3:30 is sooo late btw.

  2. Lisa October 10, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    I’m right there with you. Betas are a special form of torture that only us lucky infertiles really get to deal with. I keep telling myself that the clinic knows more than me. While this doesn’t totally help, there’s just no point in freaking yourself out. You can’t change anything at this point. Just remember that normal doubling times range from 31-72 hours and once they’re over 1600 the doubling time tends to slow to up to 96 hours. Can you tell I’ve been doing a lot of googling??

    • Shelley October 10, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

      Thank you, thank you. No that totally did help.

      • Kristin October 11, 2012 at 1:33 am #

        Along those same lines, I’ve read that it slows when the beta hits 1200. In a medical journal. Reputable. 2538 is a beautiful number. Perfect.

  3. EmHart October 10, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    I am so glad everything seems to be looking so good. Yey!

  4. Keisha October 10, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    You can’t just relax because you know too much. Unfortunately, the experience of infertility teaches us just how much is at stake.
    I wasn’t truly excited and feeling like it was real until I saw the heartbeat. Then I had a new set of worries between every ultrasound and checkup. And Lisa is right; doubling times slow down once you reach the range you are already in. Your progesterone looks great, too.
    It is torture. Hopefully after next week you won’t have to do betas again so you won’t have those numbers to worry over.
    I’m so happy that things are going well. Your numbers are better than mine ever were, if that does anything to ease your mind. Take care of yourself and think positive thoughts. Don’t be afraid to hope.

    • Shelley October 10, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

      You always know how to make me feel better, K!

  5. nonsequiturchica October 10, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    If the doctor and nurse say that it’s a good number, then try to be positive (I’m sure that it is easier said than done). Hope you can survive the next week until your next beta!

  6. Sarah October 10, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    My clinic always says as long as it has doubled in 72 hours…they have no idea where the idea of 48 hours came up and hate it when we “informed” patients complain it didn’t double…My last beta didn’t double in 48 and I had a major panic attack….the nurse had to calm me down for 20 minutes after my result….I’m sure it is perfect and I can’t wait to hear how your ultrasound goes!

    • Shelley October 10, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

      Yes! I’m glad I’m not the only one. Almost the exact same thing happened for me. The nurse kept telling me to take deep breaths and asking me what my hobbies were.

      • Sarah October 10, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

        hobbies? I would have crawled through the phone and slapped her…this is not the time to be focusing on hobbies….although I realize she was trying to get you to not be so focused on the numbers….keep the faith…the numbers look fabulous to me!

  7. Amanda (http://readingeachpage.blogspot.com/) October 10, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    Yay! I’m glad everything is looking good for you!

  8. Courtney October 10, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    Great number! Looking good!!!!!

  9. Jenn October 10, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    I would tell you to relax, but I can imagine that is next to impossible. So, instead, I will echo your nurse and say THOSE ARE GOOD NUMBERS! Do you hear me? Good number πŸ™‚

    • Shelley October 10, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

      Thank you, thank you, thank you. I need to re-read your comment like 20x before I go to bed tonight.

      • Jenn October 10, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

        Whatever works πŸ™‚

        On Wed, Oct 10, 2012 at 4:00 PM, tales from the waiting room wrote:

        > ** > Shelley commented: “Thank you, thank you, thank you. I need to re-read > your comment like 20x before I go to bed tonight.” >

  10. Cristy October 10, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    Remember what Rebecca said during the podcast: the first trimester is always the hardest, especially after working so hard just to get here. So as much as everyone tells us that things are “fine,” we will always worry.

    The trick is to keep the fire to a dull roar. That means stepping back from Dr. Google, listening to your medical team and finding distraction if all else fails.

    These are great beta numbers. Out-fricking-standing. So focus on that, the fact that things are on the right track. And if you need to, come here to vent. We’ll support you.

  11. Jenny October 10, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    In my 24 hours of obsessive googling on beta numbers (yeah, I was a bit anxious about mine), I too read that the doubling time slows once you get into the high numbers. So, you see? Google CAN be good sometimes. πŸ™‚

    I hope you’ll be able to find lots of pleasant distractions until your next beta. Thinking of you.

    • Shelley October 11, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

      Thank you Jenny. πŸ™‚

  12. Trisha October 10, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    Definitely don’t stress about that number. Considering it is only your 2nd beta that is an incredible number! The numbers also slow down once they get higher so I think you are more than fine. Go embies go!

    • Shelley October 11, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

      Thank you Tricia, that really did help when I read it!

  13. B. just cycling along October 10, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    Betas really are torture…I think you would need to be super human to get through them relaxed! But as an outsider, those are great numbers. Plus, since I have googled the entire world wide web about doubling because of my own numbers, I know that doubling does start to slow down once you are over that 1000 mark, so I am sure you are still doing amazing since you are in the timeframe. Wishing you luck!

  14. MrsBun October 10, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    Those are fantastic numbers – do your best not to panic but that said worry is normal. Thinking of you xox

  15. trufflelove October 10, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    congratulations!! that’s awesome πŸ™‚ hard part is over now? hoping for a smooth pregnancy for you πŸ™‚

  16. Theresa October 10, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    Hey I totally get it (and myself had a couple mini panic attacks between my 2nd and 3rd beta, which were also a week apart….and THEN my nurse didn’t call after my 3rd, I had to call them and nearly had a heart attack). I read too that once your beta is above 1200 is doubles more slowly – closer to 72 hours so your number is just fabulous. I can’t wait to see if its twins!! (I think it is!)

    • Shelley October 11, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

      This helped so much to read. Now I need you to tell me: how the HELL did you make it through the week between the 2nd and 3rd? Also, have you had any scant spotting? And do you ever get a flutter-y feeling?

      • Theresa October 11, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

        Distractions. Lots of distractions. The same thing I’m doing between sono 1 and sono 2 (with TWO weeks in between!). I did not have any spotting, but I did have some cramping and flutters, yes.
        Also I just read your post about the spotting – it certainly is scary but just remember that plenty of people have spotting and still have healthy babies (I say this after I FREAKED OUT when I saw a tiny bit of blood once and then realized it was just because I had recently shaved “down there”. lol)

  17. Alicia October 11, 2012 at 12:00 am #

    Congrats!

  18. Katie October 11, 2012 at 12:56 am #

    I agree on knowing too much…I just had a conversation about this with my mom today…it’s so hard not to obsess! Hang in there, I hope the week flies and you can relax in knowing you have a GREAT #!

  19. Kristin October 11, 2012 at 1:37 am #

    Ummm, did you compare your number to the Betabase? I wish I could assuage your anxiety, but I can’t so I will repeat. Perfect.

    • Shelley October 11, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

      Thanks Kristin – really means so much!

  20. alloallo October 11, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    If it’s comforting, I really appreciated this post. I’ve been feeling so overwhelmingly anxious and not so much ‘yay! how wonderful after this long road’ and I feel a bit embarrassed/guilty about it. I do hope that it will fade a bit after an ultrasound or maybe when they hand us babies someday (fingers, toes, eyes crossed).

    • Shelley October 11, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

      It is comforting, because I’m so worried about pissing this community off for “complaining” about my anxiety right now even though by most measures I have a good, strong beta. I do think if I make it to an u/s, that will help a ton.

  21. infertilitydoessuck October 11, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    I don’t think the worrying ever stops..but your beta is strong

Leave a Reply

