The bubble

9 Oct

There’s a scene at the beginning of Ghost (one of my fav movies of all time) where Sam and Molly are lying in bed together and Molly is asking Sam what’s wrong.

MOLLY
You’re worried, aren’t you? About
moving in together?

SAM
No. Not really.

MOLLY
Then what? The promotion?

SAM
I don’t know. A lot of things. I
just don’t want the bubble to burst…
Whenever something good happens to
me I’m just afraid I’m going to lose
it.

That’s where I am right now. I’m Sam, not wanting the bubble to burst. Everything seems to be going so well that I’m possibly even more freaked out than I would be if everything was going moderately well. It just seems to good to be true.

What if it’s two? What if it’s not two? What if it’s nothing? What if it goes away?

I know there absolutely nothing I can do to control whatever is about to happen. I just have to enjoy the ride and try to maintain my sanity in the meantime.

So much easier said than done.

8 Responses to “The bubble”

  1. infertilitydoessuck October 9, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

    the worrying never ends!!!

    • Courtney October 9, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

      Oh, so, so, so very true!

  2. Jenny October 9, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    We can be sisters in worry. I’m in the same place right now. I have moments of pure joy and then moments of pure terror when I think about the possibility of it going away. I’m not sure how to handle this roller coaster, but at least I’m on it!

  3. sams October 9, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Amen. I feel exactly the same way. I’m just trying to take it one day at a time and enjoy each day as it comes to me. Definitely easier said than done once you’ve walked the land of IF. *hugs*

  4. Sunshine October 9, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    One day at a time. It is natural to have worry, this is your child. Children!? It’s your job to worry. Hang in there.

  5. Sarah October 9, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    waiting….it’s all we ever do….and with that wait comes fear and anxiety, but hope sees us through…as much as I hate hope right now…hold on to hope that this is the one and you will go on to have a happy healthy full term pregnancy!!

  6. Hattie October 9, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

    Definitely easier said than done. Just try to enjoy the moment. And know that some bubbles do not burst!

  7. Lydia October 10, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

    I just came and saw the news from your first beta, so amazing! Let’s hope this bubble keeps growing for 9 months before bursting forth with healthy baby/babies. I once read a mantra on another blog about anxiety during pregnancy that I think is helpful. It is: nothing bad has happened yet. Repeat as needed!

Leave a Reply

