11dp5dt

8 Oct

Test was darker still this morning and I’m starting to feel some slight queasiness happening. I actually gagged and heaved while making my pup’s food this morning (she eats this great healthy stuff called Honest Kitchen which sort of looks like green vegetable and meat oatmeal. Ugggh, just typing that…).

I raced into the city for my beta blood draw and as promised, my paperwork was taped to the locked clinic door, instructing me to go up to the peds lab for the draw (my clinic is in a big hospital). I asked the phlebotomist how long it takes to get the results. She said about two hours, then asked me if I took a urine test (clearly she saw what I was being tested for).

Me: Yes, and it was positive.

Her: So you just want to know how far along you are?

Me: I just want to know how strong the number is.

Her: Positive is positive.

I wanted to say, clearly you’ve never dealt with infertility or miscarriage! But I just sort of wanly smiled and kept my mouth shut. How could I possibly explain to this young woman all the angst and dire importance surrounding that number? How could I convey how my world revolves around it, the sun rises and falls on it, my future depends on it? To her, it was simply another beta hCG blood test.

I asked her what happens once they get the results. Do they go into some sort of computer system? I explained how my clinic was closed today. She said I probably wouldn’t hear until tomorrow.

And now… I don’t know what to do. I don’t know if the nurse was planning to check the system just to deliver me, one patient in probably hundreds, my personal results. Should I page the on-call doctor? Should I try emailing my RE? I really, really hate to be THAT patient. But at the same time, I’ve generated some $27,000+ in revenue for them. Aren’t I entitled to a little impatience about this?

It’s times like these that thoughts of building my own personal little lab in my basement seem… utterly logical.

8 Responses to “11dp5dt”

  1. Alicia October 8, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    Yes! The basement lab would be perfect! I absolutely despise educating medical professionals on the ins and outs of infertility!

    Congrats! Fingers crossed you have a strong beta!!!

  2. Kate @ Infertile First Mom October 8, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    With the darker line and the queasiness, I’m sure your beta number is rising!! But, yes, you are certainly entitled to some impatience. Call whomever you must to get the answer you need for peace of mind!
    So happy for you!

  3. Theresa October 8, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    Someone joked to me that we needed an in home sonogram, so between the two of us, we’d be all set.
    And yes a little impatience is totally allowed!! Plus other inquiring minds want to know if your number is as high as mine was and if I’ll have another twin buddy 🙂

  4. sams October 8, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

    I think you have every right to call / email / whatever in order to get your blood test results today. I say go for it! I would. 🙂

  5. Kristin October 8, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    If you build that lab can I send you my bloodwork? Hoping for a nice strong number!

  6. Sarah October 8, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    Oh for heaven’s sake, REALLY?!?!? Why would the agree to move your beta if there wasn’t someone there to give you the results……Seriously….we need access to our results….I wish we could just get txts with the numbers so we could cry in privacy…whether with joy or with sadness…..

    Hoping the queasiness is a good sign….praying someone gets your hopefully strong beta number to you today!

    • infertilitydoessuck October 8, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

      I get so annoyed when they don’t tell you the number… I wanna know damn it… Oh the gagging and nausea is the best 😦

  7. Lindsay October 9, 2012 at 12:52 am #

    You don’t know how badly I wanted to email Dr. P and say you worked your magic again haha but don’t worry I refrained. I am so happy for you, I know how nervous/stressed/not hopeful you were feeling about this and I am in shock at your number!!!!!! Can’t wait for the next update!!!

Leave a Reply

