A few updates

27 Sep

If you haven’t already heard, episodes four and five of Bitter Infertiles are now available for your listening pleasure. Between these two episodes, we cover everything from therapy and antidepressants, to the Muppets and MTV. We chat about male infertility (well, how males deal with infertility), celebrity infertility, and Kardashian infertility. We also interview the popular Single Infertile Female (aka Leah) and review Keiko Zoll‘s new eBook! It’s basically a smorgasbord of infertility goodness. So how can you get in on the fun? Remember, you can subscribe to our blog. You subscribe on iTunes. Or you can even listen now on Stitcher!

I must say I’ve been touched by a recent series of posts by our fellow bloggers and listeners about how different topics we’ve explored have inspired or impacted them, or even just got them thinking. Trisha wrote a very open and honest post yesterday about anxiety and depression. Belle talked about how she too has been diagnosed with PTSD, in large part due to infertility. And then there was Alissa’s touching post about how IVF is supposed to work. Seeing how this project is starting to impact people in both big and small ways makes it all the more rewarding to be part of.

Speaking of Bitter Infertiles, a couple of episodes ago (crazy that I can say that now!), we asked for our listeners to send in their two week wait survival tips. We got some good ones, but we want MORE. So, as someone who’s about to enter into an FET TWW, I’m making a special plea to please send us your tips! You could very well end up on the podcast! Just email us at bitterinfertiles@gmail.com and let us know: How do you stay sane during the wait? Be sure to let us know whether or not you’d be comfortable with us mentioning your name, or if you’d rather be kept anonymous, that’s cool too.

So yeah. My FET is tomorrow. Less than 12 hours away. Nuts. Here’s a quick rundown of FET-related things if you’re interested:

-I survived taking all the meds while on a biz trip to NYC. My cousin had to do my IM injections but she handled it like a champ. The first two nights were fine, I was staying with her at her apartment. But the third night, she had to come meet me at my hotel. Thing is, I was sharing a small room with a girl I supervise. So I had to scope out the lobby bathroom, see if it would be adequate (it was, big, brand new, clean, and virtually empty as it was in the basement), then I had to find out how to get my hands on some ice. I brought Ziploc bags to get ice from the ice machine, only to find out they didn’t have ice machines. Turns out you had to call housekeeping to bring you some ice. So that presented a whole new challenge. And I don’t know if it was the ice in a bag (vs an ice pack) or the stress of the whole situation or WHAT but that night’s shot hurt like no other. But we got it done. And I managed to take my estrogen pills at every meal, despite eating three meals a day for two days with either a coworker, a client, or both.

-I’ve managed (I think) to temper any hope that’s bubbled up about this transfer. I’m trying to look at this FET as one of a series of three or four as we work through our seven embryos. I have hope, yes, but hope that ONE of the series will work out. Not necessarily this one. I still wish I could bury my head in the sand and have someone wake me up when it’s over, but unfortunately that’s not possible when you’re talking pills, and IM injections, and time of work for transfers, and other such things that require brainpower. Speaking of the series of FETs…

-I think I’m done taking breaks. Of course I reserve the right to change my mind at any time, but I’m feeling right now that I’d like to just fly through these FETs and then if we’re not pregnant after all of that, then take a nice long break to first and foremost, lose some of my infertility weight, and also just get balanced and focused again so we can figure out the next step. I think the next step would be another fresh cycle but we have to see. I’m not making decisions that far out. But for now, if this FET doesn’t pan out, I’d like to go right into the next one. I figure I can squeeze one, maybe two more in before the end of the year.

Okay, that’s all I’ve got for tonight. If I’m feeling up to it, I’ll post about how our transfer went tomorrow. Fingers crossed it all goes smoothly.

12 Responses to “A few updates”

  1. Cristy September 27, 2012 at 1:56 am #

    Thinking of you and hoping for a great transfer tomorrow! I know you’re being cautious, so I’m going all out and will be chanting “implant, implant!!” for you.

  2. Alissa September 27, 2012 at 2:01 am #

    Thinking of you! I’m with Cristy…we will root for you even while you are planning for your next few FETs. I wish you all the luck tomorrow and wish I were there to help. Keep writing and know you have us to be the positive force for you.

  3. pcosbarrenness September 27, 2012 at 2:21 am #

    Good luck!

  4. slese1014 September 27, 2012 at 3:30 am #

    Hoping for an excellent transfer for you…..and even better news at the end of your wait! I am thinking like you and pushing through these FET’s hoping one of them will stick, then it’s over for us, unless I can convince my husband to do one more fresh cycle. Good luck!

  5. Amy Simpkins September 27, 2012 at 3:35 am #

    Thinking of you and praying for you and hoping as hard as I can, girly!

  6. Amanda (http://readingeachpage.blogspot.com/) September 27, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    I hope your FET goes amazing and that you get some excellent news in a couple weeks. You are in my thoughts.

  7. Belle September 27, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    Good luck tomorrow! I’m new to your blog – are you a POASer? Perhaps I need to initiate another pee stick challenge?

    • Shelley September 27, 2012 at 10:34 am #

      I usually, superstitiously, try to hold off POASing but a fat lot of good that’s gotten me! I’m not sure what I’ll do this cycle but I’m thinking of giving in to the urges and peeing. (Ha)

  8. Lisa September 27, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Best of luck! I hope everything goes really well today!

  9. Courtney September 27, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    I love your attitude that you have hope that one of the FET’s will work, and not necessarily this one. I feel the same way – and people don’t seem to get that. They want me to be hopeful for THIS cycle. I just can’t do it.

    I am so excited for you, yet nervous for you as well. BEST OF LUCK!

  10. Jenny September 27, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    Sending you lots of good vibes for your transfer!

  11. sams September 28, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    Can’t wait to hear how your transfer went today! I had my transfer yesterday and am now on 48 hours of bedrest. This time has been easier than last time…so far. Praying for BFPs for both of us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

