Potpourri

11 Sep

Here’s my attempt at catching up (again!) on the photo challenge, ready? WAIT.

Two quick things. One, the third episode of Bitter Infertiles… IS NOW LIVE! Whaaaat, awesome. Can I just point out how irresistible Mo’s bedroom voice is? If you don’t listen to another episode, at least listen to the first minute of this one. Am I right? This week we discuss the torture of the 2WW, dealing with prescribed sex, what happens when IVF fails, and surviving baby showers, among other things. We even assign you, dear listeners, some homework, so after you go and listen, email us! (bitterinfertiles@gmail.com) Your response could be read on our next episode! Which would make you famous! Or at least podcast famous. Which, I can now attest after helping host now two whole podcasts, is pretty rad. Just sayin’.

Next! Le cycle. So AF officially knocked down my door (finally!) yesterday. I started taking my pills, one when AF came, another after dinner (they’re meant to be taken twice daily). I called the clinic this morning and learned first of all that I’m meant to take TWO pills twice per day. So I took the wrong dosage yesterday but that’s probably not going to be a problem. I’m more happy because I got my dates. So check this out right. I take my two itty bitty pills twice a day through Saturday the 22nd. That day I go in at 8 am for my first and most likely only ultrasound of the cycle. If all looks good, I start the progesterone shots that night and my transfer is Wednesday the 26th.

This is perfect because I leave Saturday afternoon for my biz trip in NYC (I’m leaving a little bit early to help my cousin with a little project she’s working on) and I come back Tuesday night. Only thing is, said cousin is going to need to give me my shots. Eeps! That should be an interesting adventure. The only thing I’m worried about now is Monday night. I’ll be staying in a hotel room with the girl I supervise, who obviously knows nothing of my struggles with infertility. So, do I tell her? If not, how do I explain why my cousin and I are spending 10 minutes alone together in the bathroom? Hmmm… What would you do? Or I could stick myself in the thigh but that pretty much terrifies me.

Anyways, itty bitty pills. One ultrasound (ideally). One transfer. Some shots. I’m liking this FET more and more.

Alrighty then. The challenge! Here’s my next little batch o’ challenge photos.

6. Book

The Crimson Petal and the White was on my lap, begging to be read. When I took this.

7. Golden

Took this in Acadia, next to a seafood shack on the site of the road.

8. Music

Also from Acadia. Does anything sound so beautiful as a rainbow?

9. Honey

Pardon the literal interpretation, but who could resist this golden tower of sweetness? Taken at Savannah Bee Co. in Charleston, SC.

10. Morning

One fine morning at the beach. Pardon my heinous nails.

10 Responses to “Potpourri”

  1. Cristy September 11, 2012 at 2:40 am #

    All those bottles of honey make my teeth hurt (in a good way). 😉

    Still sounds wo weird when I say this, but hooray for AF! Rooting for you with the FET and hoping all goes smoothly towards a very happy ending.

    And I love the pictures. I wish all my mornings were half as sweet.

  2. Kate @ Infertile First Mom September 11, 2012 at 3:00 am #

    Can’t wait to hear the third episode of Bitter Infertiles! Loving all of them so far:)

    You’re on my mind as you prepare for this FET… oh, and I’d say something tactful to the girl staying in your room. If she sees all of your paraphernalia, who knows what she might think you two are up to in there;)

    The Crimson Petal and The White is one of my all time faves! It’ll get you through a TWW, no problem… if you haven’t finished it before then! Love me some Sugar.

  3. infertilitydoessuck September 11, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    I hope your FET is easy..

  4. erinmarshall71 September 11, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    First of all, good luck on your FET.

    I have subscribed to Bitter Infertiles, but haven’t had a free block of time to give it a listen, yet. I am looking forward to it, though.

    Your photos are really fun and fabulous. I’m behind, but planning to get caught up soon.

  5. sass September 11, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    I love these photos! As for your shot on Monday night…I think you should do whatever you’re most comfortable with. If you don’t want to tell her, you could just ask your cousin to help you with something and then both retreat to the bathroom. There’s no need to go into detail. Also, if you’re worried about it taking a long time, you can always go in first and have everything set up. You can do this!

    So glad you have your schedule! Fingers crossed that this is your lucky cycle!

  6. Katie September 12, 2012 at 12:22 am #

    Awesome about the FET! So exciting! Love the pics too, at first I thought the honey was beer!

  7. sams September 12, 2012 at 1:23 am #

    Gorgeous photos!
    And good luck with your FET! I’m not sure I have any advice on what to tell the chic you supervise. Maybe just play it by ear and if the opportunity comes up to have your cousin give you a shot without the other lady in your room knowing about it, I would just go with it.

  8. Lisa @ hapahopes September 12, 2012 at 1:31 am #

    Why don’t you tell her that you have to help your cousin by giving her B12 shots. Yeah. Lie. Lying is good.

    I’m about a week behind you, lady. My transfer date is October 4th. I’ll be rooting for you! Go team!

  9. Alissa September 13, 2012 at 1:30 am #

    Yay for FETs! I am excited for you and will be keeping the hope alive. It’s coming up!

    Those pics are so pretty! Thank you for sharing!

  10. Lisa September 15, 2012 at 4:37 am #

    Your transfer is scheduled just one day after mine. I hope it’s a lucky week for FETs! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

