Catch up

5 Sep

Have I really been gone that long? You trek to Maine for Labor Day weekend and come back to a chill in the air, September on your calendar and a whiff of that end of year panic that infertiles know all too well. Another year gone by and not a drop pregnant.

(Let me preface this entire post by saying that I’m feeling rather down tonight, so if this comes across as that, well.. it’s that.)

(Doesn’t help that I just watched the most touching tribute to Ted Kennedy.)(Also doesn’t help that DH left this morning for his third straight week out of town.)

(K stopping parenthetical writing…. now.)

Anyways, time to tidy up around these parts and play catch up on a few things. First! The second episode of Bitter Infertiles is now LIVE – yippee! Sadly, yours truly was unable to join due to the extreme lack of reliable service up in Acadia. But Mo, Jess and Cristy held down the fort quite well, if I must say so myself.

Go listen now! The episode features a discussion of the term “super fertility,” followed in quick succession by the term “super bitter infertiles,”ย the media’s portrayal of miscarriage, grieving miscarriages (listening to Mo talk about Nadav here is particularly moving), a wonderfully inspiring interview with Lori Lavender Luz of Write Mind, Open Heart (oh god, could I identify with the cigarette in the gas tank memory (maybe too well), healing through movement and creativity (brilliant), and also the idea of choosing to see your life in a way that makes you fulfilled), and then some much needed venting on celebrity pregnancies (WTF HOLLY MADISON!).

It’s pretty much awesome and you need to go listen now. Oh and also, we’re on iTunes now too! And we’re listed as “EXPLICIT,” so you know it’s good.

Okay, second! A confession: I peed on a stick today. I DON’T KNOW WHY. I just thought… maybe? My period is no where to be found but my temps have been high for over a week. It was negative, obviously. I would have led with that (I don’t have THAT much self control, obviously). But yeah. Officially waiting for AF to start taking the estradiol pills. Yaaaaaaaay FET. (Sarcasm, case you couldn’t tell.)

Finally, I am shamefully behind on the September photo challenge! I am cheating slightly here because most of these weren’t taken SPECIFICALLY for the challenge but they’re still photos I took so… I’m calling it fair enough. Also, I like loose photo challenge interpretations. Just me.

1. Beginning

Me and my college buddy, jumping in Maine on September 1

2. Fire

Mucho caliente (from our road trip down South to the beach)

3. White

This photo was inadvertently taken on my phone on September 3rd.
Equal parts creepy and cool, and totally ethereal.

4. School

Maine = The Way Life Should Be
(Taken in Bar Harbor, Sept 1)

This concludes our evening programming. Thank you for tuning in.

14 Responses to “Catch up”

  1. clwalchevill September 5, 2012 at 1:08 am #

    I *heart* you! That review of episode #2 was awesome! And the trip sounds like it was equally so. Bummed about the BFN. Grrr. One day soon, hon, I promise there will be happiness. Sending hugs!!

  2. Cristy September 5, 2012 at 1:23 am #

    First off, welcome back! Your trip sounds (and looks) like it was wonderful. I’m so bummed to hear about the BFN. Grrr. Not what they universe should be giving you or DH!! Hang in there. I promise you that one day we’ll both be looking back on these times and laughing about all the insanity. May take a few shots of tequila, but we’ll be laughing.

    BTW: you are a PR goddess! Seriously, that review was amazing!!

    • Shelley September 7, 2012 at 3:10 am #

      Haha, thanks C. Heart you too!

  3. Katie September 5, 2012 at 2:06 am #

    Work has been so crazy being a teacher and back to school and I really need to listen! Sorry about the negative test…I hope this new season and the FET brings you happiness and that positive test!

    • Shelley September 7, 2012 at 3:09 am #

      Thank you Katie! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. sams September 5, 2012 at 2:39 am #

    Glad to have you back in the blogging world again after your vacation! Looks like you had a perfectly lovely time. I’ve been seeing all kinds of bloggers post about their wonderful weekends away and now I’m wishing my hubby and I had gone somewhere fun! *sigh* Our next “vacation” will be for my grandma’s 90th birthday party at the end of October. I love my Grandma so much – can’t wait to see her!

    • Shelley September 7, 2012 at 3:09 am #

      That will be so much fun! Always nice to have a trip on the horizon to look forward to.

  5. Mo September 5, 2012 at 6:10 am #

    I love love LOVE that first pic! Looks like you had an awesome time, you were missed. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Shelley September 7, 2012 at 3:09 am #

      I love it too! Except for my chubby belly sticking out but I try to ignore it. And aww shucks, thanks Mo. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. jjiraffe September 5, 2012 at 6:21 am #

    We missed you! Love the pics: they are further fueling my obsession with Maine.

    • Shelley September 7, 2012 at 3:08 am #

      I am becoming super obsessed with Maine lately too! We’re going back weekend after next for our anniversary. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. tchrgrl05 September 5, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    Here from Em’s photo challenge ๐Ÿ™‚ I LOVE your picture for white! and I love that puppy face

  8. Lavender Luz September 5, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    Well, if you couldn’t be on the podcast, Acadia looks like a wonderful place to be! Love the pix. But not the BFN ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I can’t quite figure out the inadvertent photo. I keep trying to, though. I think I’ve determined that’s not an ear.

  9. erinmarshall71 September 5, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    I like your take on the prompts.
    I am having trouble with School and Pure. Hoping that inspiration might hit me this weekend and I can retroactively post something.
    Mine so far

Leave a Reply

