To transfer? To transfer!

20 Jul

I’ve been working from home all week this week. Though the pressure has reduced and I’ve actually been losing weight (haven’t been able to say that for awhile!), I still have some pain in my belly and haven’t been very hungry. I just generally feel like I’ve been socked in the stomach multiple times. My RE’s office says that’s to be expected after the number of eggs I produced. My ovaries are quite simply swollen and pushing up against other organs.

However, I am showing no signs of early-onset OHSS. Peeing has been good, haven’t been feeling out of breath, and most of all, my weight hasn’t gone dramatically up (in fact like I said, it’s gone down!). But still, I worry. I’m obviously at higher risk to have OHSS set in if I’m pregnant, given the number of eggs they retrieved. The fact that I haven’t been feeling great since the retrieval somehow makes me more nervous about how I’ll feel if I do get it.

That said, my RE’s office is comfortable moving forward with the transfer. The embryos are doing great and their thing is, a fresh transfer is always better than a frozen one. They admit that I could hyper stimulate if I get pregnant but they do not believe it will be severe. It’s kind of a nerve wracking place to be. Knowing I could potentially be entering into a situation where I would be very uncomfortable, especially when I know that a FET down the line wouldn’t pose the same risk.

But didn’t I always say I’d do anything to become pregnant? How can I even think about passing up on the transfer of two beautiful, fresh little embryos into my uterus? Then I made the mistake of posing to DH a potential “hybrid” solution (conceived by me, my RE’s office knew nothing about it) of transferring one embryo instead of two, to reduce the risk of twins and possible higher hcg levels that could put me at greater risk for OHSS. Well, you would have thought I offered him a brand new pair of shoes the way he lit up at this idea. Which us to discuss a deeper issue of the fact that he’s not really comfortable transferring two embryos.

WHAT! I mean, I kind of had an inkling of this all along that maybe I ignored but it seemed pretty late in the game to be talking about it now. He’s afraid. Afraid of a high-risk pregnancy for me, for the babies, and leery of twins in general. All valid points (well except for the part about thinking twins are weird – sorry for any twins reading this!), but I reminded him that though the risk of twins is high (one third of all pregnancies achieved through double transfer IVF), we’re much more likely to either: a) not get pregnant at all, or b) wind up with a singleton. I’m scared of a twin pregnancy too! Mostly because I’m terrified of morning sickness and I think my dream of a natural home water birth would go flying out of the window.

But at the same time, I want to be pregnant. I want to have a shot at being a mother. And I believe that transferring two will give us a greater chance of that. He, being the awesome husband he is, is willing to do whatever I want to do and not in that, “do what you want to do but I’m going to say I told you so one day” way. No, he means he will get behind whatever I decide.

With the number of embryos we have, this may be our only shot at a fresh transfer. So, with all of this in mind, and with more than a little trepidation, we’re moving forward with transferring two embryos tomorrow morning. I’m going to acupuncture tonight (hopefully he can help tackle the last of this bloating and my tummy ache) and will also go after the transfer.

Here we go!

12 Responses to “To transfer? To transfer!”

  1. Cristy July 20, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    I’m so glad to hear that you are healing and that there are no immediate signs of OHSS. Very encouraging! I’m also glad to hear the embryos are growing!! Grow babies GROW!

    Regarding an eSET vs. transferring 2: I think it’s a wise decision. I understand where people are coming from with transferring 2 instead of 1: there’s a higher chance of pregnancy and it’s more bang for the buck. But twins is not something to sneeze at. It most certainly is life-changing and there are risks during pregnancy. For us, we would not have transferred 2 during our first round if it was not for the fact we were paying for everything out of pocket. And there are plenty of stories of women who have become pregnant transferring only 1 embryo.

    In short, I will support you any which way you decide to go, but I think seriously considering these options is very wise.

    Thinking of you, hoping transfer goes as smoothly as possible and keeping everything crossed!
    xoxo

  2. Amy Simpkins July 20, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    *love and hugs*

  3. Kristin July 20, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    Good luck tomorrow!

  4. DandelionBreeze July 20, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    Fantastic :)) Always such a hard decision about one versus two… but you sound like you’ve thought it through and know the balance of what is best for you 🙂 So glad that you don’t have OHSS.. I’ve been thinking of you over the past few days and hoping no other sym’s develop. Love to you and all your gorgeous embies xoxo

  5. dopingforbaby July 20, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

    Awesome news! Good luck with the transfer.

  6. Keisha July 21, 2012 at 12:02 am #

    I will be sending all of my positive thoughts your way tomorrow! Good luck, Shelley!! I can’t wait to hear how it all goes.

  7. Kate @ Infertile First Mom July 21, 2012 at 12:48 am #

    Hooray for transfer and for no OHSS! Everything is crossed for you… for tomorrow and the weeks that follow. Just think! One (or two) of those little embryos is gonna be your baby… Your sweet bundle of joy! So exciting. 🙂

  8. Marisa July 21, 2012 at 5:52 am #

    Good luck tomorrow! I’ll be thinking of you!

  9. Lindsay July 21, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    I’ve been thinking about you all week!! Good luck this morning 🙂

  10. Alicia July 21, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    Good luck!!! It’s all happening so fast !

  11. Rochelle July 21, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    Wishing you the best of luck! Hope they’re safely nestled in right now!

  12. Katie July 21, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    Oh my gosh…this is so exciting!

Leave a Reply

