Fert report

17 Jul

Just heard from our clinic. Of the 30 eggs retrieved, 27 were mature and 25 fertilized naturally. We are so pleased with these numbers and so is our clinic!

That said, there is a concern on both sides about hyperstimulation. If I do have some symptoms of OHSS, they would only be made worse by getting pregnant. Given how I’ve been feeling, the thought of feeling worse does not appeal to me in the slightest. Depending on how the next few days go, we’ll either be doing a five-day transfer on Saturday, OR canceling the transfer and freezing everything until OHSS subsides.

Not exactly the news we were hoping for but I’m way less upset than I thought I would be. Like I said, I really dread the thought of suffering through OHSS and how much would it stink to have the already worrisome early days of a pregnancy made that much more difficult with hyperstimming? So for now, we’re waiting and watching to see what will happen with me.

The bad news is, I am definitely bloated and in pain. I can’t stand up straight, it hurts to cough, laugh or sneeze, and my belly feels very full and painful to push on (I do feel better than yesterday though). The good news is that the three main things I’ve been told to watch for: shortness of breath, decreased urine output, and rapid weight gain, are not happening. So, who knows? It’s difficult to make the call right now. I’m just going to keep pumping the Gatorade, taking my cabergoline, resting up and hoping for no OHSS! Oh! And I’m going to acupuncture tonight in the hopes that they’ll be able to help. They said they have had some success in the past with reducing bloating post transfer so hopefully they can help me!

12 Responses to “Fert report”

  1. Cristy July 17, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    Woohoo! 25 embryos!! Grow, babies, GROW!!

    I’m so sorry you’re in pain. And I’m hoping with my whole heart for no OHSS. May you feel better soon.

  2. Congratulations on the 25 embryos! That’s awesome! I hope you feel better soon and that you don’t have OHSS.

  3. Emily @ablanket2keep July 17, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

    That is an awesome report! Hoping so hard the OHSS doesn’t escalate and you feel better soon.

  4. dopingforbaby July 17, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

    Your embryos sound fabulous! I hope good news can help eat away some of the pain. Stinks to be bloated and uncomfortable and blah. Be good to yourself. A big hug!

  5. Alicia July 18, 2012 at 4:16 am #

    Take care of yourself… That sounds really awful. I’m so glad to hear that you had such great success with your eggs!!! So awesome! You’ve got a soccer field of future babies! πŸ™‚

  6. Joanna July 18, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    Just rest and relax and try to take care of yourself friend. I really hope you don’t have full-blown, extreme OHSS! And congrats on all of the fertilized eggs!!! That is amazing, so so happy for you! xoxxo

  7. Lindsay July 18, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

    Wow, can’t believer how many you got!! Hopefully this is the last time you ever have to do a fresh cycle!!! Please let us know how you’re feeling, I’m thinking of you and hoping and praying you wre able to keep ohss away. Xoxo

  8. DandelionBreeze July 18, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    Wonderful results :)) I hope OHSS stays away for you and you get to ‘meet’ a few of your little ones in the next few days πŸ™‚ I had very similar symptoms to you after my first retrieval and no OHSS… great that you don’t have the other symptoms πŸ™‚ Rest up and look after yourself… acupuncture can really help – I always feel so much better after my sessions xoxo

  9. Keisha July 19, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

    Shelley, those numbers are amazing! I can’t wait to hear the next update, and I certainly hope you don’t have full blown OHSS. I had a mild case of it and it really sucked!!

  10. Aplatanada July 20, 2012 at 2:13 am #

    Yay! Excellent numbers! Hoping your pain and discomfort goes away soon. Take care of yourself!

  11. trufflelove July 20, 2012 at 5:50 am #

    hi! your numbers sound amazing! i hope i get that many on mine! fingers crossed for you!

  12. Her Royal Fabulousness July 20, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    What an incredible fert report! So happy for you! πŸ™‚ Def avoid OHSS if possible…there is another blogger that just went through the worst bout of it I have ever heard of. Even hospitalized and drained multiple times!! Ahhh! Better safe than sorry! Still, what an incredible outcome. Mazel tov!

Leave a Reply

