Slow and steady…

11 Jul

…Wins the race, right? Or so I’ve always been told. I hope so!

More monitoring this a.m. Things are growing… but slowly. Only a couple of measurable follicles on my right (a 14 and a 12) and none on my left. But there’s lots there and they’re responding to the medication. The u/s tech explained that the follicles all have to “share” the medication so that’s why it’s so slow. The nurse wasn’t at all concerned, in fact she made it sound like things are right on schedule. “Slow and steady is good,” she said.

So the plan is, still 150 units for two more nights and back on Friday for dildocam date round three. By then, I’m really hoping to get a better idea of how many follicles we’re working with. At this rate, I can’t see a Saturday night trigger followed by a Monday morning retrieval (this was the original estimated calendar) but I guess things can go quickly at this point. I’ve been feeling lots of twinges and some tightness in my ovaries and my EWCM has kicked into overdrive, so I know the estrogen number is climbing up.

We shall see! In the meantime, I’m gonna keep on, keep on, keep on truckin’….

6 Responses to “Slow and steady…”

  1. Cristy July 11, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    Glad to hear things are progressing. I’m all for quality! Grow eggies GROW

  2. Lindsay July 11, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    You’re almost there!!! I have heard from many people that slow and steady really is the best at to go and it’s also the best way to control the threat of ohss!!! Can’t wait to continue to read about your progress :). I too, wish we were cycling a little closer together, but hopefully come August we will both have awesome news to celebrate!!

  3. Gina July 12, 2012 at 12:47 am #

    I’ve also heard that slow and steady is good! Don’t feel discouraged! The follicles are definitely sharing the medication so give them some time to figure out which betters to GROW. Hugs to you!

    • Gina July 12, 2012 at 12:47 am #

      I meant “better ones”

  4. @ErinMarshall71 July 12, 2012 at 1:01 am #

    Patience, little one. Ha ha ha, as if that’s possible.
    Like Gina said, think of it as time for the best ones to develop.

  5. Alicia July 12, 2012 at 2:37 am #

    This is all such great news! Keep on keepin’ on… Sounds like it’s coming along perfectly! And those are nice numbers! Hold tight… Almost there!

Leave a Reply

