Cycle update: Day 5 of Stims

9 Jul

I can’t believe how fast this process goes once you start stimming! It’s bananas. I went in for my first monitoring appt this morning after four nights of Gonal-f at 150 units. First monitoring appointments are usually pretty boring, from the other two I had during my IUI cycles, so I wasn’t expecting much and rightly so. My clinic doesn’t count antral follicles or anything under 12 mm and they were all smaller than that today.

I was glad for this though. I want slow steady progress as I’ve read it can mean better egg quality. The u/s tech did say I had some spotting in my uterus still (but said it wasn’t that big a deal? Hope not) and “a bunch” growing on both sides. I asked her to give me a ballpark estimate of how many she saw and she said approx. 10 on the right and 6 on the left. Not bad! I know that doesn’t necessarily mean they’ll get 16 mature eggs, they may get more, they may get less. But I’m happy with where I’m at now and thankful for what I’ve got growing at this moment.

The nurse just left me a message with my new “plan” (do other RE’s offices call it the “plan”?): continue Gonal-f 150 units tonight and tomorrow, back on Wednesday morning for more monitoring. I missed her call so I didn’t get to ask what my E2 level was, but I’m debating whether I want to get into all those details this time around. In my IUI cycles I was all about getting the full scoop. My clinic doesn’t offer those details up, you have to ask for them, but I always did. But I read something on a board last night about trusting your clinic, going with the flow and letting them worry about these things, and something in that struck a chord with me. So for today, I’m going to trust that everything is fine (and I think being kept at the same dose is always a good sign that things are working, but not too much) and do what I’m told.

I’ll be taking my 5th shot of Gonal-f alone tonight. DH is out of town ALL WEEK for work. I usually get really bummed out when he travels anyways, so it’s been extra trying to be okay with him being away while all this is going on. But I’m doing my best with it. We really have no choice, it was either this week or next week and in all likelihood, my ER will be next week if all continues to go well. And I think I kind of need him for that! So I’m just womaning up and shooting myself up… myself!

I can’t believe I could be halfway done with stims by this time tomorrow. And that very soon I’ll be having my retrieval, and then learning how many eggs they got, and then getting the fertilization report, and then waiting to see how they develop, and then having my transfer! It all seems so far away but it’s so damn close it’s just silly. I’m happy! And hopeful! And excited. And just so wanting everything to go smoothly. If sheer will has anything to do with it, I should have a decent shot.

7 Responses to “Cycle update: Day 5 of Stims”

  1. Tracy July 9, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    It’s so great to hear how positive you are! I also really admire you being able to let go of those details and numbers… I get overly control-freakish when I am anxious, and I think I’ll be a monster if we end up going down the IVF road.

    Keep it up, friend! πŸ™‚

  2. Katie July 9, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    This is so exciting! Glad thing are going great and can’t wait for the next report! You will do great with the shot tonight!

  3. Kate @ Infertile First Mom July 9, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    Yes! What a great start! I’m sorry you have to go solo this week with your husband out of town… I’d be feeling super sorry for myself… but I’m impressed with your attitude and level of optimism! That’s so great! Keep it up. πŸ™‚

  4. Cristy July 9, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    This is a great start! And I’m in complete agreement with you: things seem to move so fast when you’re stimming. Probably due to being monitored so closely. I think you’re plan of trusting your clinic is a good one. C+B actually has you focus on that during the stimming, trusting that you are getting the exact amount of hormones you need. I think focusing on that will help.

    Give me a call if you want to chat. It’s hard to be doing this alone (I’m sure DH would much rather be with you during this time), so I’m more than happy to talk. Thinking of you today and looking forward to more good news soon!

  5. Lindsay July 10, 2012 at 2:09 am #

    Wow, you are right, it realy is moving fast!!!! Glad everything looks good so far. I am just a few weeks behind you, so I love to read your posts. Hope you’re handling being home alone okay. Like you didn’t already have enough to deal with πŸ™‚ Thinking of you and hoping for more good news soon!

  6. Alicia July 10, 2012 at 2:12 am #

    This is all so awesome! 16! And trust is good – this is great news all around!

  7. DandelionBreeze July 10, 2012 at 5:33 am #

    Sorry that I’m so far behind on your news 😦 Wonderful that you’re already so far into your stim cycle :)) Grow follies grow πŸ™‚ Know that you mean about trusting our clinics… I’ve always found that hard to do, but find that I feel more peaceful when I’m able to let go and trust them πŸ™‚ Thinking of you and cheering you on from afar xoxo

Leave a Reply

