Teabag Tidbit no. 2

25 Jun

You must know that you can swim

through every tide

and change of time.

That was the wisdom on my teabag today and I thought it worth sharing. I’ve written about how infertility has made me stronger, more comfortable facing my fears and more confident that I can overcome some of the hardest obstacles imaginable. All of these things have made me more and more secure in who I am and what’s yet to come.

My friends and family have all been amazing as we’ve embarked on this journey. My parents remembered when I would be starting Lupron and made a point to reach out to me with words of encouragement and well wishes. It meant a lot. And yesterday on our weekly call we talked about everything that’s to come with IVF in great detail. It means the world to me that I can be this open with them as they support me through all of this. I really have a set of amazing parents for whom I couldn’t be more grateful and whom I hope to emulate one day!

Then one of my best friends send us a little good luck card that arrived over the weekend. It means so much that these people are taking note of my important days and going out of their way to be there for us. As I suspected when I made a goal of drawing in my support network in advance of the cycle, even though most of them can’t relate to what I’m going through, they still can be there for me. And they are. And I’m grateful.

In other news, I’m getting nervous about how everything will work out with taking time off from work. I want to take one sick day each on my retrieval day and my transfer day, then at least 1-2 days of working from home after that. My office has said they will support whatever I need but it’s still going to be potentially a week that I’m out of the office, depending on how the procedures fall, how fertilization goes, etc. The weird thing is, I’m less concerned about my actual work getting done, more just concerned about how it will “look” that I am out for so long. Though my superiors are aware of the situation, everyone else doesn’t know. That is intentional because there are a lot of young people at my office and I don’t really want it getting out to that whole group.

To my IVF friends out there, how much time did you take off from work around your retrieval and transfer?

8 Responses to “Teabag Tidbit no. 2”

  1. Joanna June 25, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    I am just so excited that you have started this journey and I really appreciate you journaling everything for those of us who haven’t gone down the IVF path yet! And as for the incredibly wise and prophetic tea bags, keep ’em coming! xoxo

  2. Kate June 26, 2012 at 12:25 am #

    My IVF cycle never made it to retrieval/transfer, so I can’t help with the work schedule question. I think your plan sounds reasonable, though. It’s so great that you have a supportive boss, and even better that your friends and family are so in tune with your cycle! It really means a lot when loved ones don’t try to hide from or ignore the entire IVF process (out of their own lack of understanding or comfort level issue)… So glad yours are there for you and are able to let you be completely open about everything!
    Love your tea bag tidbits!!! Such wise words:)
    Best of luck to you!!!

  3. Lindsay June 26, 2012 at 1:15 am #

    I am just a few weeks behind you, getting ready to start lupron on July 13…thinking of you and looking forward to reading your posts over these next few weeks…hopefully we both get great news this summer 🙂

  4. DandelionBreeze June 26, 2012 at 2:25 am #

    Love the quote… I’m so sorry that I’m so far behind on commenting 😦 Wonderful that you’ve started your cycle and FXd for you 🙂 I’ve always taken the day of and the day after my retrievals off ( my clinic doesn’t advise strict bed rest, so I can only get a certificate for these days )… always hard to know how much to take off. After many failed cycles, I took extra time off this year. Thinking of you as you make your decision xoxo

  5. Lisa June 26, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    I can’t give any advice about time off because I’m lucky enough not to work in the summer. Just wanted to say hi because we’re on very close schedules (though mine is FET). Good luck!!

    • Shelley June 26, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      Are we?! I love to find cycle buddies! Do you have a blog I can follow for your updates?!

  6. Alicia June 28, 2012 at 5:16 am #

    Hi Shelly! Our situations sound so much the same! I too am debating how much time to take off… I’m actually thinking 2 full weeks… I have tons of vacation, but a looming work deadline too. I’m thinking someone else has to pick up the slack while I’m gone, but this is tough. Do much uncertainty!

Leave a Reply

