Lupron, Day 2

22 Jun

Lupron Day Two

Don’t feel much yet, symptom-wise. Actually, I’m kind of in a fantastic mood! The weekend is nigh and my workload was pretty low today. Felt some uterine twinges yesterday and had some copious CM. I know Lupron can initially cause a “flare” in LH and FSH (thanks Dr. Google!) so I’m guessing that was the cause. I know that the symptoms can build up the longer you’re on the Lupron though, so I’m not rejoicing just yet.

We’re doing things differently, injection-wise, this time around. Namely, I’m having DH inject me. The main reason there is because I want to feel like a team, like we are doing this together. While I CAN easily give myself the injections (doesn’t bother me too terribly), I would rather feel his involvement in the process. Plus, he is a very exact and precise when it comes to medical stuff. You should see the way he wrapped our pup’s paw when she cut it in the woods one time. With completely different schooling, he could have been a doctor. He does tend to pass out in hospitals though.So… maybe not. 🙂

When I originally got my timeline for this cycle (starting Lupron on June 21st, baseline work up on July 5th), I was worried that I wouldn’t ovulate before starting Lupron, and that therefore my entire cycle would be delayed, I wouldn’t have my period by July 5th, I’d have to be on Lupron for longer, etc. This was coming off of a 50-day cycle though, so it’s understandable. Luckily, I think my body magically cooperated and I did manage to ovulate right before (either CD 16 or CD 20, really not sure which but my s/w thinks 16), so hopefully things will happen as scheduled.

In non-IVF news, we’re meeting up with some friends tonight for Ethiopian food! It’s one of my favorite favorites and I just can’t wait to dive into a nice big plate of injera, tibs, lentils, green beans and the rest. My MIL, though not Ethiopian herself, lived there for many years and makes it the best. She always adds in a green salad (not typical at Ethiopian restaurants) and homemade soft cheese (also, not usually seen at restaurants), which I just love. But a few years ago we finally found a great Ethiopian restaurant in the greater Boston area that meets DH’s standards. Most of the people there are actually Ethiopian, so you know it’s good.

How about you guys? Any weekend plans?

ICLWers, welcome once again! If anyone out there is cycling with me, I’d love to know!

13 Responses to “Lupron, Day 2”

  1. Her Royal Fabulousness June 22, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    I’ve never had Ethiopian food. Yum! The only major side effect I had from Lupron was some hot flashes and being more emotional than usual. No big whoop! Good luck!

    • Shelley June 24, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      Oh you must try it! We go to Habesha in Malden – best place in this area, hands down. When did your Lupron hot flashes start? I really haven’t felt anything… starting to worry we’re not doing it right or I’m not responding!

  2. Aly (@breathegently) June 24, 2012 at 2:53 am #

    Just wanted to wish you lots of luck in this IVF cycle!!

    • Shelley June 24, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

      Thank you Aly! Appreciate it!

  3. Cristy June 24, 2012 at 4:32 am #

    Okay, I’m jealous. There is only one good Ethiopian restaurant here in Seattle and it’s definitely not as good as what I’ve had back east. Now I’m craving Ethiopian food. We’ll need to rectify this.

    You know I’m rooting for you. That with this cycle comes your THB. I’m glad to hear no side-effects from the Lupron so far. Fingers are crossed for a smooth suppression and lots of good news very soon!

    BTW: You and the other calm ladies make breaking up very hard. I’ve cried from each and every one of your posts. I’m going to need all of your help, because this is new territory for me, but if you’re all willing, I’m game. I couldn’t have made it this far without you and now I can’t imagine not introducing my children to their amazing aunts.

    • Shelley June 24, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

      I so didn’t want to make it hard for you, Cristy! Just wanted to be sure you knew that we are prepared to be there for you in any way you need us. If you are willing to continue on the forum then I am more than game for it! I recently found a great adoption blog called Finding Magnolia – have you heard of it? They are in Ethiopia RIGHT NOW adopting their second daughter! I’m learning so much about adoption and what it means to be an adoptive parent through her (she’s an excellent writer, also writes for Babble). Definitely check it out if you can!

  4. cassiedash June 24, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

    Hi from ICLW! I read a little of your background and am so sorry for your losses, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this summer is it for you guys. You deserve it. Best of luck!

    • Shelley June 24, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      Hi and welcome! Thanks for all the nice words!

  5. Jenn June 24, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    I had Ethiopian food once many years ago and it’s high time I go back! I hope this is THE cycles for you!!

    • Shelley June 24, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      It’s my favorite though it is very very heavy. I love it though. 🙂

  6. storkchaser June 24, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    yum. i havent had ethiopian food in a really long time. also, i have Hubster give me my injections and boy he takes it seriously. he even puts alarms in his phone to remind him it’s time to poke me and gets everything all ready on his own. i love it! crossing my fingers for this cycle and hope you’ve had a great weekend!

    • Shelley June 24, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      Ooo, good idea – I need to get him to start setting alarms! I am always the one who says when it’s time.

      • storkchaser June 24, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

        yeah he even made the alarm ringtone that “shots” song lol! smh…

Leave a Reply

