And so it begins!

21 Jun

Well, I just took my first shot of Lupron! 10 units for the next two weeks, then into the office for my baseline. If all looks well, we’ll be onto our stimming with Gonal-f, then eventually our hCG shot of Pregnyl (little box by the blue bottle (blue bottle not part of IVF protocol :))). So, our IVF cycle has officially begun! Here’s the obligatory shot of all the meds, needles, syringes, alcohol swabs, etc. Not pictured: Crinone. Though we have that as well.

I honestly don’t know what I’m supposed to do with all of this. The orange capped needles are for the Lupron, which is in that little bottle next to the Pregnyl. It’s such a tiny vial of the stuff, I don’t know how it will last me for the next four weeks (I will stay on Lupron through stimming). But then there are those big needles that they say are for intramuscular injections. I don’t know how to do those (they scare me!) or even what they are for. I assumed the Pregnyl, but when I called my RE’s office, they say Pregnyl was supposed to be subcutaneous as well? They told me to bring in everything I was confused about to my baseline and we’d figure it out from there. Maybe the pharmacy sent them to me in error.

So how am I feeling? Excited. Hopeful. A bit scared. Confident. Strong. I’ve started letting myself believe I may be pregnant before the summer’s out. May be. May not be. But this is the best chance we’ve had in years and I’m so ready for it. Many factors are on our side and we have a lot to be thankful for. I’m determined now to be positive and happy and approach it all with the best attitude I can muster.

I’ve been a little remiss in blogging lately as I’ve been busy preparing for this cycle. I’ve been focusing on healthy habits. Healthy eating and drinking. Vitamins. Acupuncture. Circle + Bloom. Opening up to people. It’s all really helped me get to the good place I’m in now. I did manage to contract an ear infection from swimming (boo!) but it hasn’t been too bad and I’m now on some antibiotics for it, which my RE’s office assured me were safe to take during suppression. I’ll be in closer touch now that we’re rolling to document my journey. I hope you’ll all stay with me!

To everyone visiting from June’s ICLW – welcome, welcome, welcome! So happy to have you here. Please feel free to read more about me here and get the quick run down on our TTC history here.

9 Responses to “And so it begins!”

  1. eighteenyears June 21, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    Oh, the big box of drugs day! So exciting and so scary at the same time. It sounds like you’re starting things off right!

  2. Katie June 21, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    So glad you are in such a good place…and I am hoping for a great cycle for you!

  3. Kate @ Infertile First Mom June 21, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    Very exciting, indeed! I love your positive attitude. When my cycle started, I’m afraid I was a bit of a whiner. Wishing you all the best!

  4. sass June 21, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    This is so exciting! I would bring a tally of how many of each type of syringe you have to your baseline to make sure you have enough subcutaneous. You don’t want to run out and have to scramble to find more mid-cycle! (Not that it would be the end of the world, but not all pharmacies carry them.)

    Keeping my fingers crossed!

  5. Kristin June 21, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

    Throughout my IF journey the injections made me feel the most confident and strong. Superwoman!

  6. Jenn June 21, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

    So may emotions! One day at a time, one injection at a time 🙂 I really, really hope this is your month. My fingers remain crossed for you!

  7. Lindsay June 22, 2012 at 1:40 am #

    Eeek, I am right behind you!!!! Waiting on my period and then waiting for cd 21 to start the lupron. Look forward to following along as you continue to get one step closer!! Good luck with all the injections!!

  8. Alissa June 23, 2012 at 5:13 am #

    Yay! Good luck! Even if you have to do the IM injections, you will get through it. I do them every day and you get used to them. I am glad you are doing all those things to prepare yourself to be as healthy as you can be. It will help.

  9. Jamie June 25, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    So exciting! I always love the obligatory meds shot. I don’t know what it is about that stuff that inevitably causes physical pain, but seeing it all laid out is still really exciting. Best of luck to you! Happy ICLW!

Leave a Reply

