May’s IComLeavWe Welcome!

21 May

Hello! If you’ve found your way to my little corner of the IF blogoverse thanks to Stirrup Queen’s May IComLeavWe, I’d like to say welcome and invite you to learn a little more About Me and check out my Timeline to get the scoop on our TTC journey.

I’ve only been blogging about infertility for about a month and a half now, but it feels like so much longer! When I started this blog we were going into our second IUI cycle. That cycle ended up being cancelled, ironically one month ago today on the first day of April IComLeavWe, due to overstimulation and the risk of multiples. I was pretty devastated as everything had been going so well otherwise. So, we decided to go “rogue” and have sex on our own, even though my RE encouraged us not to.

That was a total waste of time because my five pretty follicles ended up painfully bursting on their own, causing me two days of bleeding. My RE said it was because I didn’t trigger that the eggs never released on their own. His recommendation for us was to move forward with IVF. Since I respond so well to the drugs, IUI is a risky process for us. IVF is much more controlled and he believes, will be much more successful.

So since then I’ve been waiting, waiting, waiting and waiting some more for AF to arrive. She still hasn’t. I’m on CD40. ISN’T THIS THE MOST EXCITING BLOG, EVER!? At first I welcomed the wait as a chance to relax a little before launching into IVF, and to get in a little better shape, but now I’m done waiting and I just want to start already! We’ve been approved for three IVF cycles with our insurance (we’re incredibly, hugely fortunate in this regard). Our meds have been ordered but the prescription stands waiting to be filled at the fertility pharmacy until AF comes since Lupron has a short shelf life.

So that’s my story right now! I’ve got a busy week of work travel ahead of me and then we’re heading home for the long weekend, but once I get back, if AF hasn’t arrived I’ll call my RE’s to get some bloodwork drawn and get started. Oh, and in case you were wondering (I know I was), no I’m not pregnant. Checked that. Nope. No such luck.

Anyways, I hope you’ll stick around as we enter this first IVF cycle and follow along with our journey. I’m glad you’re here!

14 Responses to “May’s IComLeavWe Welcome!”

  1. Cristy May 21, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    Isn’t that how it always works: we pray for AF to stay away, and it shows. We want it to show up and it doesnt’! The whole way, driving us insane. ARGH!!! Hang in there, my friend. And Happy ICLW!

  2. Joanna May 21, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    In never fails, that the arrival of AF is always either untimely or unwanted! I hope it shows up soon for your sake! I am excited for you to start IVF and am equally ecstatic it is covered!!!! Happy ICLW!

  3. veetamia May 21, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    Hi from ICWL 🙂 Hope that AF makes an appearance soon! It sucks when we have a neat plan in our heads but nature doesn’t cooperate. Best of luck for the upcoming IVFs!

  4. Jenn May 21, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    I really hope your period starts soon! I can only imagine the agony of waiting so long. I’m excited for you to start IVF, if not a little jealous that your insurance covers it. That’s amazing!

  5. DandelionBreeze May 22, 2012 at 12:05 am #

    Thinking of you as you head into your IVF cycle… hopefully AF will arrive soon. Happy ICLW to you too xoxo

  6. Sarah May 22, 2012 at 1:54 am #

    Good luck! I hope you have early success 🙂

  7. Heather May 22, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    Happy ICLW! What a ride you have been on already. Wishing you all the best this cycle and hopefully your body will respond perfectly this time!

  8. Leslie May 23, 2012 at 12:49 am #

    40 days!? JUST COME ALREADY! Let’s get you on the exciting next step!!

  9. Arwen Rose May 23, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    Hey there from ICLW! Also fairly new to this IF blogging malarky so here’s a newbie welcome 🙂 IF sucks but IF women rock, it’s official! hope AF comes soon soon soon so you can start!

  10. Trisha May 24, 2012 at 1:19 am #

    I cringed at the bursting follicles that sounds so painful! Hoping AF shows for you soon!

  11. Sunny May 24, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    Hi from ICLW. You are sooooo lucky that you have THREE cycles of IVF covered by insurance. We have nothing, anything vaguely infertility related gets rejected and i have to pay from my own pocket.

    Al the best with your IVF. I will be following your journey.

  12. Jennifer May 25, 2012 at 1:39 am #

    Happy ICLW! I can totally relate with the crazy long cycles! My last cycle was 42 days! I was going out of my mind. Wishing you all the best with IVF! 🙂

  13. Billy May 25, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    Happy ICLW and good luck!

  14. Theresa May 25, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    Hi from ICLW!
    When you dont want your period to start, it does.When you do want it to, it doesn’t. Stupid AF.
    Hope it starts soon so you can begin your cycle!

Leave a Reply

