Waiting by the phone…

19 Apr

Waiting by the Phone
A play in three acts

Act 1
(The moment I leave the RE’s office until lunch time)
“This is totally fine…”
Barely glance at my phone,
but of course keep it right by my side.
You know.
Just in case.
But seriously though, I’m cool.

Act 2
(Lunch time until about 2, 2:30 pm)
“Okay, you can call now… any time.”
Start actually holding my phone on my body.
Or place it directly on my keyboard.
Wake it up every 10-15 minutes to make sure I didn’t miss something.
(Okay, every 5 seconds.)

Act 3
(2:30 until the moment they call or I cave and call them)
Nervous, sweaty, disorganized, unfocused.
An addict going through serious withdrawal.
“What’s happening, what’s going on, something is wrong…”
Call. Call now. K, now. K, NOW. NOW NOW NOW!!

And I’m not even waiting for beta results. Seriously, you’d think I’d be better at this by now.  The theme from today’s tale from the waiting room: impatience!

Leave a Reply

