Cycle update: CD6, plugging along

17 Apr

Had my first cycle check up (ultrasound + bloodwork) today after four days of stimming. Lots of follicles on both ovaries but nothing dominant or measurable yet. The ultrasound tech said that was normal at the first check up. My E2 was within normal range, 90-something, up from 20-something. I left my notes at work so I can’t say for sure.

I talked to them about the expired Gonal-f issue. While it is true that you’re not supposed to take it 28 days after opening it, they said it wouldn’t hurt anything, there’s just a chance it was slightly less potent. But they told me not to worry about it so I’m not and just to keep using the new pen from now on. I feel bad about wasting what’s left of the old pen but I don’t really have a choice.

So the plan is to keep at the same dose – 112.5 iu – and then go back in for another check up on Thursday. By then I’m hoping to have some bigger, measurable follies to see. Last cycle I had three measurable ones but they triggered me before they got very big (biggest was 14mm at my last u/s, day before trigger) because my E2 levels skyrocketed. I’m hoping that doesn’t happen again.

It’s so nice being back at the RE’s again for a cycle, which sounds silly perhaps, especially coming from someone who was so resistant to this for so long, but I love not being on our own, not feeling so lost and unsure of what’s going on. It’s also nice to have a shorter cycle. My last cycle was 46 days so to be making any sort of progress at all on CD6 seems pretty amazing.

For those who are cycling right now, how are things going?

3 Responses to “Cycle update: CD6, plugging along”

  1. DandelionBreeze... previously NYMum April 17, 2012 at 3:38 am #

    Hi… here from LFCA 🙂 Great that your US went well and that all is on track :)) Good luck and thinking of you xo

    • Shelley April 17, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! 🙂

  2. Gina April 17, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    So glad to hear that the “expired” medication was not too bad!

Leave a Reply

