From the waiting room.

12 Apr

Hi there. Welcome. This is my new blog about my struggle with infertility. If you’re reading right now, thank you. Thanks for being here. Right from the start. I’ll write more about me later but I wanted to start by saying thanks.

I started this blog because, like most IF bloggers, I need an outlet. In my regular life, I maintain several blogs. On my personal blog, I’ve opened up about our two miscarriages, but haven’t shared much at all about our struggle to conceive.

The thing is, I really want to share what I’m going through, but not necessarily with everyone who knows me in real life. I’m no longer ashamed or afraid to say we’re struggling with infertility, yet I don’t care to have everyone know all the nitty gritty details. Especially if we get pregnant, I want to be able to closely control who we tell and when.

If you’re reading this, you probably know all about how IF takes over your whole life. It’s eaten up so much of me. But I’m starting to realize that if I don’t tell people about this part of my life, I find I can’t open up about much more. I’ve stopped doing so much of what I love. IF just leaves me too tired, not physically but, I guess, emotionally, to do much of anything outside of work and chores and trying. So if you ask me “what’s up?” I find I don’t have much to say anymore. Unless we’re talking charting and testing and injections. Then I could pull up a chair and chat for hours.

I also want to be a part of the IF community. I’ve witnessed it’s strength and caring and support and now, as we’re entering into our second IUI cycle after a chemical, I feel (fear?) I may need that support more than ever in the months ahead.

In return, I promise to be a good IF buddy. I promise to be active and comment and give all that love right back. No one knows what this journey is truly like unless they’re on it or have been on it. We’re all we’ve got, ladies. Thanks for making space for me in this crowded waiting room. I’ll just dust off this corner and make myself comfortable.

It could be a long wait.

8 Responses to “From the waiting room.”

  1. Cristy April 12, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    Hooray for the new blog!!!

  2. Elizabeth :: Bébé Suisse April 16, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    Hello! I just saw your blog listed on LFCA and wanted to come over and welcome you to the blogging world. I look forward to following your journey and will be rooting for you!

    • Shelley April 17, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

      Thanks so much for the warm welcome! I’ll be sure to follow along with you as well!

  3. Nity April 17, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    Just saw your blog on LFCA and wanted to say sorry you’re in the club, but welcome to the blogging world. Hopefully you won’t be waiting too long.

    • Shelley April 17, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

      Thanks for welcoming me! I have several personal blogs but have finally made the leap to having an IF blog now too. Hopefully one day I’ll be able to tell tales from the delivery room! 🙂

  4. Jenn April 20, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    Thanks for commenting on my blog, I thought I’d hop over and check out your corner of the internet 🙂 Sounds like we have a lot in common as far as the TTC journey is concerned. I’m going to play catch-up today and I look forward to reading more in the future. God luck!!

    • Shelley April 20, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, Jenn! I was reading your “About Me” page today and it indeed seems like we have a TON in common! So glad to have another friend on this journey. 🙂

  5. Kate @ Infertile First Mom April 23, 2012 at 2:46 am #

    Welcome:) Sorry you have to be here, but welcome anyway. Here’s hoping your journey is short (both in the waiting and delivery rooms:) and relatively pain free.

Leave a Reply

