Maybe

26 Jul

Maybe I’m scared of diving into my own complicated web of feelings. Maybe I’m not as open to sharing as I once was. Maybe I’m just too busy, too worried, too stressed, to bother with blogging. But whatever the reason, I’m not feeling up to posting right now.

I did want to let you all know that baby J is doing well (“Turtle” no longer seems apt). Her second surgery to repair her atresias went well and her recovery is going well and we continue to watch and wait and hope as life here in the hospital, well, goes on. There is no expectation or timeline of going home in the near future. Thank you all so much for your well wishes over the past few weeks. They’ve easily been the most challenging of my life.

I’m continuing to mull over what I want to happen to this space at this point. For now, I know that blogging feels like a chore and another chore is the last thing I need right now. This isn’t your typical “I’m a mom now, what do I do with my infertility blog?” question. It’s more like a “my baby has been in the hospital since birth with a threatening birth defect and complication, how do I cope and function?” kind of question.

Until I know the answer, there may be a bit of radio silence around here.

17 Responses to “Maybe”

  1. Theresa July 26, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

    Hey you gotta do what you gotta do. I hope you don’t disppear forever but understand if you need to. Thinking of you

  2. nonsequiturchica July 26, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    I hope you don’t disappear forever as well, but understand if you need to. I’m glad that J’s second surgery went well and I hope that you guys can get a timeline for her release soon. Thinking of you guys.

  3. Katie July 26, 2013 at 11:44 pm #

    I’ve been thinking of you, hang in there…

  4. Courtney July 27, 2013 at 3:43 am #

    The last thing you need is another chore! When things get tough, you need to simplify, and cutting out blogging is the obvious choice. Good for you for knowing what you need.

    Best wishes to you, baby J, and the hubs. I think of you often (& my husband asks about you often) and am sending heaps of love your way!

  5. Alissa July 27, 2013 at 4:48 am #

    I can imagine how this space may not be your priority right now. Take all the time you need, take care of yourselves and J and pop over when you get a chance to tell us how Turtle is doing. We have been thinking of you all.

  6. aplatanada July 27, 2013 at 6:42 am #

    Do what you need to do. You and Turtle are in our thoughts no matter what. Hugs.

  7. jjiraffe July 27, 2013 at 7:14 am #

    I think about you and baby J all the time.

    Do whatever it is you need to do. You definitely don ‘t need another chore, or anything that might drain or tire you out.

    Wishing you all the very best.

  8. Kate @ Infertile First Mom July 27, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    Take as much time as you need, and know that we are all here. Thinking of you and your family.

  9. aliciadawnfowler July 27, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

    Thanks for the update Shelley – I’m so glad to hear that J’s recovery is going well. No stress about blogging – it’s a space for you to get it all out and find support, but if this isn’t what you need right now, then stepping away makes sense.

    Until next time, take care. Thinking of you often.

  10. ewagner123 July 27, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

    Thinking of your family and totally understand your lack of posts….
    Appreciate the quick update! Stay well.

  11. slese1014 July 27, 2013 at 6:28 pm #

    Oh honey, this should never feel like a chore. You have so SO much going on right now. Focus on what you need to focus on. Take care of you and Baby J and your hubs. I will keep you all in my thoughts and prayers and know no matter what I’ll be here to read if you want to share….HUGS!!! And give some love from me to that precious baby.

  12. Haley July 27, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

    Thank you for the update. I’ve been thinking about you guys and sending as much positivity your way as possible!! Hang in there and do what’s best for you and that beautiful babe!! I hope you return to this space one day but if not, know that your words have been such a great source of information and support for me over the years and for that I am so grateful. I wish i could return it all to you right now. Much love and all the best to your family.

  13. Jenny July 27, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    You and Baby J have been in my thoughts. Even if you’re not actively blogging, know that I’m sending your little one lots of good thoughts. Take care. *hugs*

  14. expectantmummy July 27, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

    Radio silence is completely understandable and probably necessarry right now. You and baby J are still in our thoughts and prayers xxxx

  15. Kathy July 29, 2013 at 11:07 am #

    Glad to hear things are moving forward. Hope the progress continues and you are soon home with the family. This is a overwhelming thing you are going through, we all understand that. Post when you feel up to it.

  16. Gina July 30, 2013 at 5:10 am #

    No extra chores for you. Do what you need to do to cope and survive. This space is supposed to help you cope and express your feelings. It’s not supposed to another source of burden, especially right now. We all understand. Take care of yourself and little J is the most important right now, but we are always thinking of you.

  17. JustMe July 31, 2013 at 5:30 am #

    Do what you need to do. We understand. This is about getting through it and focusing on your baby, your family and yourself. Don’t make more work for yourself if it’s not giving something back to you in return.

    That being said, give us updates once in a while….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

